navigate
current
archives
profile
website
email
gbook
notes
host
design

Sometimes it helps to look on the bright side
2006-02-01, 9:31 p.m.

You know what I was thinking about tonight? Surprisingly, I just thought to myself how lucky I am. I have been reading a lot about the various conditions I may or may not have. And most people with optic nerve loss do not even know until they have vision loss. And it�s a total fluke that they found out about my nerve loss before I actually lost vision. For those of you who have been around this planet (Janet�s Planet) for a while, you might remember this entry. Or not. But it�s okay, it�s not like you are all obsessed with all things Janet.

2 years ago, I went in for my annual eye exam with an optometrist. After testing my vision, they asked me if I wanted to have my pupils dilated so they could examine the inside of my eye and it was not covered by insurance. I said what the hell. While peering inside my pupil for the very first time, it was noted that there was some kind of growth on my retina. The optometrist explained that it was probably nothing and that they would just take a look at it at my next exam and monitor it.

Well, if an optometrist tells me there�s some kind growth in my eye, I�m just not satisfied with �monitoring it�. So I went to my regular doctor and got a referral to an ophthalmologist (I never spell that word right, you�d think I�d be getting good at it by now). When the ophthalmologist looked at the growth (which did turn out to be nothing), he discovered some kind of potential problem with my optic nerve. And hence the vigilance began. Vigilance that never would have started if not for a fluke of some kind of mole like growth on my retina.

I�m fortunate that I haven�t actually lost vision yet. And if fortune continues, they can prevent vision loss. At the time, I was disgusted by the thought of some kind of growth in my eye (�A mole. In my eye. Eww, gross.�) but that mole may very well have saved my vision. Thank you little mole, I shall name you Herbert and feed you Dove Dark Chocolate.






Daddy's gone - 2009-08-10
- - 2009-06-13
Bald Spots - 2009-03-25
Empty birthday cakes with suicidal shovels - 2009-03-05
Emptiness - 2009-03-03

last - next