navigate
current
archives
profile
website
email
gbook
notes
host
design

I'll take some energy with a side of energy and some energy for dessert
2006-01-31, 5:49 p.m.

I had planned to update much sooner than this. I even started a few half-hearted attempts at an entry but failed. Part of the problem is that I was out of town on business last week. And the trip out of town created a lot of work for this week because a) I was out of the office not doing my �office� work and b) because when I do an audit I have reports and letters to write afterwards and I did 10 audits last week. In three days. No wonder I�m so tired.

Another reason I haven�t updated sooner is that I�m exhausted. Part of the problem (I guess I like that phrase) is that I was still recovering from the injuries from my fall. I have a lot of muscle pain still and some nights my knees just ache so bad. And my back. My neck. My shoulders. It just hurts so much I can�t fall asleep, even when I�m exhausted beyond belief. Add to that a 15 hour day spent driving and leaning over a laptop computer set up on a table that has no business operating as a workstation. Last Wednesday, the final day of my trip, I woke up in Bakersfield (at 4 AM because I don�t sleep well in hotels), left for Fresno at 6 AM (120something miles north of Bakersfield), did the longest and most difficult audit of my career thus far (8 hours of audit hell), then drove from Fresno to home (260 miles). It was a long day and my body felt so beat up when I got home at 9:30. I thought I�d sleep really well from being so tired, but the pain kept me up until almost 3.

And ever since then, I have just not been able to find any energy. Sometimes, I have to pee so bad but I can�t even find the strength to get to the bathroom. I have yet to pee my pants though (little known fact about me, I WAS a bed-wetter until about 8 or 9, maybe I�ll write an entry about that sometime � I do NOT have the serial killer triumvirate though I have the writing of a serial killer so I�m told). Saturday I finally got myself out of bed at 5 PM. It was horrible. Usually, I look at the computer 5 feet away from the bed and I think, I can make it to the computer. Then after getting to the computer, and an upright position), I can usually manage getting to the bathroom, maybe taking a shower, getting dressed, going downstairs for food and liquid. But the exhaustion has to be some of the worst I have experienced when not totally diagnosed with an illness (like the flu or that kidney infection last year, or the time I had sepsis or post-surgery or you get the point). It�s so bad I think about seeing my doctor but I�ve been in there so much lately and I have so many appointments still in my future I just can�t deal with it. I guess I�ll mention it to the neurologist when I�m there on Monday (getting the results of my MRI) if it�s still this bad.

I have been managing to work, because frankly, I need my job. It�s amazing what financial motivations can do for you.

So I have nothing exciting to write about, no real update on my �condition�, and I�m too tired to have fun stories to tell. But hey, I did finally get an entry written. Yay for me!






Daddy's gone - 2009-08-10
- - 2009-06-13
Bald Spots - 2009-03-25
Empty birthday cakes with suicidal shovels - 2009-03-05
Emptiness - 2009-03-03

last - next