navigate
current
archives
profile
website
email
gbook
notes
host
design

Reasons why you need an annual eye exam
2003-10-28, 10:16 a.m.

I had been told at my recent eye exam that I had some kind of growth on the retina in the back of my eye, so my primary care doctor referred me to an opthamologist to get it checked out.

So here�s what happened at the doctor�.

He looked inside my eyes and then said �Did the Optometrist mention anything else besides the growth?�

Me: �Uh, no�

Him: �Does anyone in your family have any problems with their eyes?�

Me: �Uh, no� (thinking, well this can�t be good.. heart beginning to accelerate)

Him: �Well, I notice a couple of things. First there�s the growth, it�s a mole and it�s flat. We�ll have to watch it and make sure that it doesn�t begin to grow. I�m not concerned about the mole, but there is something else that concerns me.�

Me: �Uh, okay� (queasy feeling in my stomach)

Him: �Your optic nerves are different sizes and they should be the same size. The right optic nerve is considerably smaller than the left. There are a couple things that could be causing this and we�ll need to do some more testing.�

So here are my choices:

1. Glaucoma. (Not likely since I was screened for this last Monday and came out okay, and this is a disease that normally affects people over 60)

2. There is something creating pressure on the optic nerve, something like a TUMOR!

3. The nerve is degenerating.

So which one of these options would you like?

He�s going to retest me for glaucoma first because it�s the easiest to eliminate and then we�ll go from there. Lucky me.

In addition to that great news yesterday, I was supposed to have a date with Fido. He had to cancel and hopefully he'll be able to see me tonight. I'm not holding my breath. His life is so unpredictable, it's better not to get to attached to the idea of seeing him. It only leads to disappointment. I really could have used a shoulder to rest my head last night.... I was understandably upset by the news from the doctor. Nothing I can do but wait.






Daddy's gone - 2009-08-10
- - 2009-06-13
Bald Spots - 2009-03-25
Empty birthday cakes with suicidal shovels - 2009-03-05
Emptiness - 2009-03-03

last - next