navigate
current
archives
profile
website
email
gbook
notes
host
design

The letter D and flowers
2007-01-05, 10:04 a.m.

Since the only two diary entries I have to write right now are either a) too emotionally draining to deal with right now or b) require pictures (which on d�land is a pain � resizing, uploading, linking, etc), I�m taking a cue from Tia and she has assigned me the letter D.

10 things I like that start with the letter D


  • Driving. As long as I know I�m not late, I love to drive. It�s like brain time for me, time to either a) sit in my car and think, b) listen to music or c) call friends on my cell and catch up. I also just love seeing all the places I can go and how all the roads/freeways interconnect and how many ways there are to get from here to there.
  • Drinking. Sometimes a nice fruity semi-sweet wine (though never while driving), sometimes a martini, but I also enjoy just drinking water or diet snapple and quenching my thirst.
  • Drive by Incubus � this song always inspires me to remember that I am the one in charge of my life.
  • Dixie Chicks � I did not agree with them disparaging the leader of their nation (whether they were right or wrong) in front of a foreign audience, but I agree with their right to speak their own voices and not be ashamed for it. Plus, they have spunk. I like that.
  • Dinner � A well cooked meal cannot be left out of this list. If it involves a top quality filet mignon then all the better.
  • Dreaming (both the waking and sleeping kind). The sleeping kind because, well, it means I am sleeping and I love to sleep; the waking kind because dreams help us be motivated to DO SOMETHING with our lives and even if only a few small changes come out of it, at least we are moving forward and not backwards.
  • Divans. Isn�t it a lovely thought to lay back on a divan and read a book while eating caramel and chocolate covered marshmallows?
  • Dipping � in the pool that is. I love me some swimming.
  • Daughters. I want one. And I love little girls. I like little boys too, but little girls have better clothing.
  • Dynasty and Dallas. Come on, the original night time soap operas. They were fantastic.
  • Daffodils. They aren�t necessarily my favorite flower (lupines, tulips and pansies steal that category) they are still very beautiful.

      Speaking of flowers, Someone sent me flowers last week. They had been reading my archive last year and decided that I needed a little something to get 2007 off to a great start. Aren�t they beautiful?

      Speaking of receiving flowers, I have only received flowers a handful of times. Let me list them for you:


      • After my nephew was born, he sent me for my birthday (which was really sweet as the boy was only 2 months old at the time, he was pretty talented � I think he had some help)
      • An ex-friend sent me flowers to work on my birthday one year
      • 1 time, and one time only, a guy arrived on a date with flowers for me
      • When I dated this guy John (see archives), he bought me some flowers from a roadside peddler for my birthday dinner
      • Heidi sent me tulips for my birthday 2 years ago (or was it 3?)
      • Carrie sent me flowers when I had my miscarriage.
      • I received two plants when I had my gastric bypass surgery
      • my church (that I no longer attend), sent me flowers when I had an endoscopy with biopsy about 10 years ago.

          And that�s it. Pretty small list, eh? And I am grateful for each flower I have received because I know they were sent with love, but are you wondering why Brian�s name isn�t on that list? Yeah, me too� It should be. It�s not like it takes more than 10 minutes to order flowers for someone to show them that you care and are thinking of them. But Brian, he is just not that way. He thinks I should just intuitively know that he is thinking of me and that he cares. But this is an entry for another day as it goes along with the crying entry (not all tears about him mind you) and I am not ready to deal with that whole bag of tears just yet.


          So, at least you have something to read and my diary doesn�t start growing stiff from lack of use.






          Daddy's gone - 2009-08-10
          - - 2009-06-13
          Bald Spots - 2009-03-25
          Empty birthday cakes with suicidal shovels - 2009-03-05
          Emptiness - 2009-03-03

last - next