navigate
current
archives
profile
website
email
gbook
notes
host
design

When you know it's been a bad year
2006-12-18, 7:04 p.m.

So you know it�s been a bad year, healthwise, when this happens:

I go to the pharmacy to pick up a refill.

I go to the counter and say �I�m here to pick��

And before I could finish, the pharmacist says �Just one this time, right?� then goes right to my prescription and brings it to the counter.

How scary is that? I mean, that means I�ve been at that pharmacy counter quite a bit, because she�s not the only pharmacist so it�s not like I see her every time I go either. Yet she still saw me and knew exactly who I was and how many prescriptions I was picking up this time.

Health, I just want health. And next year, I�m switching to a PPO with a prepaid health account so all my deductibles and coinsurance are already paid for at the start of the year and then deducted from my paycheck so I intend to use the hell out of it and get healthy. I mean, there are some things I cannot fix. I cannot cure my lupus. The osteoarthritis and spondylitis in my back are there forever. The lost optic nerves will never be found. They are gone forever. But there is still a lot I can do to make myself healthy.

I plan on doing the following:


  • Seeing a new Ortho (a family friend and grandson of some famous physicians who have a clinic in Minnesota and sounds like a condiment) and get an over view (sort of like a 60,000 mile check up and then get a referral for Physical Therapy.
  • Having more regular visits with the chiro (plus he says with the PPO he can do more types of treatment, yay for that.
  • Go back to therapy (emotional therapy that is)
  • Go get a full check on my optic nerve and my friend harvey the growth on my retina at the premiere eye institute in CA
  • That might be it for now. I�m sure I�ll think of more.

So, about the passing of my dear friend Quincy. I have a few things to say. She was a wonderful cat, and a good friend to me when I needed one. I loved having her sleep with me at night and coming home to find her curled up on my bed every day after work. I loved when she was a kitten and would curl up on my shoulder. I loved watching her sleep under the Christmas tree. But the truth is, she only spent 9 months with me. She spent 3 years with my Aunt and family. I�m a little weepy, they�re devastated. I am sad, but happy. I am sad she is gone, but I�m happy that she had such a good life. Her life was so short but she was so well loved and had such a wonderful home the last three years where she was loved and had critters to chase and got to pretend she was a big lioness. She was a lucky kitty even if her life ended early.

The thing that really makes me tear up is this: If life had taken a different path, I�d be having a baby in 2 to 4 weeks. I can�t get past that. The idea haunts me night and day. It hurts. And the things that distract me keep getting all fucked up too� like the whole Ken incident. And everyone around me is having babies, having little girls. I am happy for them, but still feel my own loss. I wonder when that feeling goes away? I hope it fades at least a little soon.






Daddy's gone - 2009-08-10
- - 2009-06-13
Bald Spots - 2009-03-25
Empty birthday cakes with suicidal shovels - 2009-03-05
Emptiness - 2009-03-03

last - next