navigate
current
archives
profile
website
email
gbook
notes
host
design

Birthday Weekend
2006-04-03, 8:22 a.m.

It�s just a fact, I give good presents. I don�t know why I�m so good at it, I just am. One thing is that my mom taught me how to make a gift special in the details. Sometimes, it�s just the little things that you add to a gift that make it special. I think that if you listen to someone, if you really care about them and want to make them feel loved and special, it is easy to choose the right gift. But you have to want to get a great gift, you have to want to make that person feel special.

So Saturday, as I was lounging around the house, considering what to wear for my sister�s concert that night, I began to feel sad about the whole birthday thing. I just felt like I wanted someone to care about me that much, someone who wasn�t family and required by blood to feel that way for me, someone who wanted to make sure I felt amazing and loved on my birthday.

I was JUST about to send out the invitations to my pity party, when the mail arrived.

I knew that heidiann was sending me a package, so when I saw a large envelope, I was a little confused. I could feel some CD�s in the envelope and I knew she was going to be sending me some CD�s as well� well, being in my sad mood, I opened the envelope (even though it wasn�t technically yet my birthday, but it was my birthday weekend). So inside the envelope were some burned CD�s and then a piece of cardboard wrapped in tissue paper. Well, I contemplated waiting until my birthday to open it but I curiosity won out and I lifted the edge of the tissue paper.

Guess what I got�. Go on, guess.

SURFING LESSONS.

It was the most awesome gift ever. It was exactly the kind of gift that I had been feeling all sad about not getting. I knew that it came from love, that it came from someone�s desire to make me feel special and loved and appreciated and celebrated. It came from someone who is truly grateful that I was born 38 years ago and wanted me to know that. Someone remembered that 2 years ago I said I wanted to learn to surf. Someone remembered that I need a little (or big) something to get excited about this year. Someone wanted me to do something fun and different. Someone made me feel special and loved.

It was amazing.

I ripped up the invitations to the pity party as they were no longer needed.

Onward.

So, that night I went to see my sister�s band rock the hizzouse. They had a few technical difficulties but it didn�t matter because they�re just up there having fun. They made up a new tune of Happy Birthday and sang it for me and another family friend who was there celebrating his birthday. In all, about 30-40 people showed up to support my sister. It was awesome and I had a great time. And it didn�t hurt that the cute waiter flirted with me all night long.

Sunday, my family and some close friends went to dinner for my birthday. I had chosen my favorite italian restaurant which is on the bay in Newport. Their food is so good, especially their sausage, which they are famous for. We had a really nice, low key dinner and my family also made me feel special and loved. I got some great gifts (I mean, birthday�s aren�t all about the presents, but we have to admit, presents are nice!) � a business card holder from Brighton, some body scrub from Sephora, March of The Penguins DVD, the 1st season of Desperate Housewives on DVD, and 3 books I have been wanting.

I have saved the gift from rdhdprincess as instructed and I will open that tomorrow morning. I don�t really have any plans for my actual birthday and I�m thinking I should plan something that day� maybe I�ll just see if I can get a massage appointment after work.

Well, I�d better get back to work. Happy Daylight Savings Time! (I hate losing that hour of sleep � hateit, hateit, hateit!)






Daddy's gone - 2009-08-10
- - 2009-06-13
Bald Spots - 2009-03-25
Empty birthday cakes with suicidal shovels - 2009-03-05
Emptiness - 2009-03-03

last - next