navigate
current
archives
profile
website
email
gbook
notes
host
design

Mmmbop
2005-08-24, 7:02 p.m.

Okay, don�t laugh at me, but I just downloaded Mmmbop by Hanson. I mean it. Don�t laugh. I know it�s a stupid song, but really, it will break a depression if you are in one. It�s my secret depression-breaking weapon. Try it. You�ll see.

God, driving home, I just got overwhelmed with life and �stuff�. I just started to look back at my life and felt like I had never made any good choices or decisions. I mean, let�s say I�ve made 100 decisions in my life. I think maybe 5% of them were good ones. So that�s like a 95% failure rate. It�s not really as bad as that, it just felt like it at the time. And when it starts to feel like that, it�s so hard to shake and see the positive, the good, the sunshine. Such thick impenetrable clouds move into my vision, I am almost powerless against them. I wanted to cry. I started to cry. But I had to go to the store, and the only thing that held me together is the fact that I won�t go in a store with red puffy eyes.

By the time I finished shopping and got home, I became focused on other things. My parents are celebrating their 40th anniversary this Sunday and my sister and I are throwing them a party. We are both doing the food, I�m in charge of decorations and music and invites. My sister is in charge of more of the food than me, plus drinks and hosting. So, the music, that�s what led me to Itunes. I wanted to find some old favorites from my parents� early years. I started browsing and found the billboard charts. That�s how I ended up with Mmmbop. And right now, it�s �Shadow Dancing� by Andy Gibb. Okay, Disco and Pop are in charge tonight. Don�t worry, Mmmbop won�t be playing at the party.

So that�s how I chased away a vicious mood. If only it were always this easy. But it�s 7 PM and there�s still a bit of night before me. Hopefully, I can keep it away from me for 2-3 more hours when it�s decent to go to bed. Until the, I�ll be rockin� (or discoin� or poppin� ) on with my bad self.






Daddy's gone - 2009-08-10
- - 2009-06-13
Bald Spots - 2009-03-25
Empty birthday cakes with suicidal shovels - 2009-03-05
Emptiness - 2009-03-03

last - next