navigate
current
archives
profile
website
email
gbook
notes
host
design

If it looks like a survey...
2005-08-18, 8:06 p.m.

I see these little surveys all the time. I always enjoy reading. I always plan on doing them myself. I have even been �tagged� a couple of times, and then, with the best of intentions, not followed through. But, here I am, sitting at my computer, enjoying my itune$ playlist, so what the hell� survey? Bring it on!

Top 10 Favorite TV Shows, Ever
1. Sex & the City (damn I miss you, my vagina is depressed without you)
2. Queer as Folk (just saw the finale last night, thanks to my friend Danny for recording it for me and I�m going to miss you too)
3. CSI � the original
4. Law & Order SVU
5. Friends
6. Battlestar Galactica
7. Dynasty
8. ER
9. Ally McBeal
10. The Donny and Marie Show

Top 9 Favorite Movies, Ever
1. Big
2. Hope Floats
3. Schindler�s List
4. 50 First Dates
5. Disney�s Beauty and The Beast
6. The Sixth Sense
7. Forrest Gump
8. While You Were Sleeping
9. Xanadu

Top 8 Favorite Books, ever
1. To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee
2. A Tree Grows In Brooklyn by Betty Smith
3. Good Grief by Lolly Winston
4. What Girls Learn by Elizabeth Berg
5. She�s Come Undone by Wally Lamb
6. The Anne of Green Gables Series ( Carrie I agree with you on this one completely)


Top 7 Favorite Albums, ever
1. U2 � The Joshua Tree
2. Styx � Paradise Theater
3. John Mayer � Room For Squares
4. Elvis Costello � King of America
5. Green Day � American Idiot
6. Incubus � for this I have to combine the best of Morning View and Make Yourself
7. Pat Benatar � Best Shots
8. If I agree to give up a TV show or something, can I have one more? Madonna � Ray of Light

Truth is, I�d give up half my TV shows for more books and music (that is, if I had to take these items to a deserted island or something)


Top 6 Favorite Foods, ever
1. Dove Dark Chocolate
2. Puffy Tacos from the Adobe Caf� in San Antonio
3. Brisket from Rudy�s in San Antonio (Oh San Antonio, how I loved your food!)
4. Ben & Jerry�s White Russian
5. Ben & Jerry�s Makin� Whoopie Pie
6. Funnel Cake

Top 5 Favorite Drinks, ever
1. An Ice Cold Coke from the fountain with loads of ice
2. The Naughty Chiquita (my own concoction � 2 kinds of banana liqueur, malibu rum, orange-pineapple-banana juice, and sometimes a dark rum if I want to get really schnokered � come to California, I�ll make it for you)
3. Ice cold water after working out really hard
4. Diet Snapple Cranberry Raspberry
5. Raspberry Lemonade

Top 4 Favorite Desserts, ever
1. Coldstone Creamery Banana ice cream with brownie bits
2. Oatmeal Chocolate Chip cookies fresh from the ovens
3. Warm fudge gooey brownies with ice cream and fudge
4. Bananas Foster

Top 3 Favorite Holidays, ever
1. Christmas
2. Christmas
3. Christmas


Top 2 Favorite Restaurants, ever
1. Claim Jumper
2. Sabatino�s


Most Favorite Quote, ever
1.


What was I doing 10 years ago?
I was living with 3 other college students, working in a preschool, recently finished with college and plotting my next move in life. I don�t remember anything spectacular about that year, wish I could say it was more exciting, but it was just life. I had 1 year to be carefree before losing a close friend to AIDS 2 weeks after losing my job. This was the old Janet.

What was I doing 5 years ago?
5 years ago, I was riding high. I felt so great about my life. At 270 pounds, I was confident about my body, dating and excited about the future. I felt like I was driving a car on a trip and in control, anyone who wanted to come along for the ride was welcome, but I was choosing the route, the music and when we�d stop for eats. Then in the midst of all that, I was date raped and plunged into a depression that lasted for about a year. But in the midst of all that, I met Brian, and in my holiest sweats and dirty t-shirt, managed to show a side of me that captured his heart.

What was I doing 1 year ago?
One year ago? See 2 entries ago. I was recovering from surgery, watching my parents recover from surgery, dealing with a temporary who-knows-what with Brian, dealing with harassment from my boss, getting over the death of a friend to cancer, dealing with another friend who was dying of cancer, and becoming addicted to Vicodin. Oh yeah, good times.

What was I doing yesterday?
Started my day out with a 3 hour drive through LA Traffic, through �The Valley� traffic to Agoura for an audit. Finished about noon, drove home and sat in traffic again, relaxed for a few hours. Wrote a page for my novel. Listened to some tunes, started a book. Ended my evening with delicious greek food and a peck on the lips from Brian. (No time for sex that night � tomorrow people, tomorrow)

What am I doing today?
Drove to Ontario for my longest audit yet. Finished at 2 and drove home. Ate greek food leftovers (names of food I cannot spell, cannot pronounce and do not remember, except for the spanokopita, other than that there were some grape leaves wrapped around meat and rice and some grilled lamb and veggies on a skewer), finished a so-so book that was the most exciting because it takes place in a neighborhood where my friend Jana lives, watched TV, wrote a little in my novel and filled out this watchamacallit survey-like thing.

Five snacks I enjoy:
Milton�s Multi-Grain Crackers with Goat Cheese and Pesto
Pita and Hummus
Fudge-Covered Oreos
Nachos
Well-Buttered Popcorn

Five bands I like: (Bands as opposed to recording artists? What Up With Dat? Ask me who my favorite musical recording artists are, the list would be different)
Incubus
Green Day
Dixie Chicks
B-52s (been too distracted to mention the fabulous and amazing concert I went to back in July)
Indigo Girls
Man, why do people make you pick just 5! It ain�t right.

Five things I would do with a million dollars:
Travel the world
Go back to school
Get artificially inseminated and make a baby
Quit my job and become a full-time foster mom
Buy and RV and drive to all the lower 48

Five locations I would like to run away to:
Ireland
Hawaii
Greece
Australia
My sisters back yard

Five bad habits:
Overeating
Spending too much money
Taking drugs to numb my emotions
Cursing in traffic
Playing endless games of Taipei and Solitaire on the computer when I could be productive

Five things I like doing:
Reading a good book
Swimming
Hanging out with the girls (no, I don�t mean my boobs, lovely as they are)
Skin on skin with Brian
Sleeping in on a weekend morning

Five TV shows I like:
CSI
Ellen (both of them, the old sitcom and the talk show)
30 Minute Meals
How Do I Look
Law & Order SVU

Five famous people I would like to meet:
Ellen Degeneres
Madonna
Jamie Foxx (I�m certain I�m supposed to be his wife)
Tom Selleck (he STILL looks hot!)
Anthony LaPaglia

Biggest joys in my life at the moment:
Sleeping in
A good book
My good friends who make me laugh and listen when I cry
My upcoming trip to Seattle
My beautiful, and still new, car

Five favorite toys:
My computer
My MP3 Player
My cell phone
Brian�s penis (I figure if Carrie can name a penis as a toy, so can I)
Rock �Em Sock �Em Robots (okay, I just threw that in because I�m getting tired and my brain is rebelling)

Five people to tag:
Well, I took a tag without being actually tagged� some of you have already done these so I can�t really tag you. But if you haven�t and you want to, go for it, pretend I tagged you.

So, I did actually start writing my novel. I�ve decided that I spend enough time each day mindlessly doing nothing at the computer, I ought to at least accomplish something. A page a day, that�s all I�m asking of myself. A page a day. In 90 days, I�ll have 90 pages. Okay, it�s only been 2 days and I usually only make it 2 weeks, but anything can happen, right?






Daddy's gone - 2009-08-10
- - 2009-06-13
Bald Spots - 2009-03-25
Empty birthday cakes with suicidal shovels - 2009-03-05
Emptiness - 2009-03-03

last - next