navigate
current
archives
profile
website
email
gbook
notes
host
design

super powers
2005-08-17, 4:53 p.m.

Danny and I are trying to come up with new creative super-powers, comic book style. My top two so far are:

The De-Consequencer
The Point-Of-Viewinator

Here�s some brief descriptions:

De-consequencer � this super-power allows you to play a �Get Out of Consequences Free Card� whenever you don�t like the results or consequences of your actions. It allows you to basically erase mistakes without losing the lesson or thrill of performing the action. I think this super-power would make me more daring and allow me to take more risks.

The Point-of-Viewinator � this super power would all you to point a wand (or finger or something) at another human being and instantly they would see and embrace your point of view. This super-power would be especially helpful when someone cuts you off on the freeway, during an argument with your significant other, or when asking for a raise.

I had one more super-power, but somewhere between going to sleep last night, and getting up at 5 AM this morning, it disappeared. I�m sure it will come back to me. Or not. I guess it�s really not that important. I also had an incredible story idea that got lost in they miasma of my brain as well. Life goes on. A new and better idea (that will sit and rot with my other story ideas) will come in its place sometime.

Our computer system at work got hit with that virus the other day. About 10:30 AM yesterday, WHAM! All our computers began this cycle of shutting down and restarting, until we manually shut them off. My computer worked fine today at my audit but it wasn�t connected to the network. I spoke with one of my colleagues at work today and they were still about 50% shut down. I�m sure IS was working on Customer Service and Claims first. And I know they worked all night. It was insane. I had some paperwork and filing to do, so that kept me busy during the morning, then about 2, I had nothing left to do so I got to go home. I�m out of the office tomorrow for another audit so hopefully it will be all resolved when I get back to the office on Friday. I hope so, I have a lot to do!

Well, that�s all I�ve got. I just thought I should break up the depressing episodes with a bit of levity. I�m really okay, better than I sound in my entries. I think its because the actual writing process helps me deal with the shit in my brain. It�s almost as if once its written, I don�t have to carry it anymore and I can get over it. It sounds strange but keeping a journal keeps me sane (or helps me stay as sane as I am capable of being). The blank page, diaryland, my readers, the journalizing (this word was thanks to MSWord spell-check) community, they are all therapists to me. Since therapist moved to San Francisco to pursue her dream job, and my psychiatrist has moved to New Jersey to pursue an opportunity she could not refuse, I can use all the extra therapy I can get.






Daddy's gone - 2009-08-10
- - 2009-06-13
Bald Spots - 2009-03-25
Empty birthday cakes with suicidal shovels - 2009-03-05
Emptiness - 2009-03-03

last - next