navigate
current
archives
profile
website
email
gbook
notes
host
design

I'll turn into a gym rat if it's the last thing I do
2005-06-23, 2:03 p.m.

So I�ve been back at the gym for 1.5 weeks. This time, I�ve decided to go every other day no matter what. In the past, I�ve always just said, oh, I�ll X number of times per week, but that makes it too easy for me to blow it off. Because I can always just be lazy all week and then go X number of times in one day (well, not really but you know what I mean). If it�s just so many times per week, it�s easy for me to say �I�ll go tomorrow�. So this time, I go every other day and it�s a lot harder to flake on that. Today was day 11 and I have gone 6 times. I�ve been doing the eliiptical, varrying my speed, level, direction, etc. I�ve been getting a good work out and doing more than 20 minutes each time. All in all, I�m happy with myself and seem to be back in my �grrove�.

So today I stepped on the scale to see how I�m doing and I� gained a pound. Okay, so there was a moment of discouragement where I thought �WTF!!!! I�m doing this for nothing.� And then I just said, I�m not really working out for the weight loss (I mean, I want the scale to go down, but mostly I�m doing it because it�s healthy and it gives me a nice endorphin high) and I promised myself not to measure my progress for 6 weeks. Plus, there are any number of reasons why I might be up a pound. The scale was missing for about a week so maybe it�s been recalibrated. I could be carrying around a lot of water. I might have started building muscle. No matter, I�m not going to be discouraged and I�m going to keep going.

I�m just going to do the elliptical for 6 weeks but I do some of it a high level to build muscle. After 6 weeks, I�m going to start doing some arm and upper body weight lifting. My plan is to do six week workout routines and at the end of every 6 weeks, I�ll evaluate my routine and see what changes I need to make. I�m sure at certain points, I�ll need to make changes just to stave off the boredome.

I had to be out the door at 6 AM today to drive hella far for an audit. I drove 3 hours to do an audit that took about an hour, then drove home 2 hours (less traffic). But the good news is I got to go to the gym and still be home before 2. Yay! I love my job. It rocks.

Well, truthfully, I have a lot more to say, but don�t really have the right mind-set to say it right now. Whenever someone makes a comment like that, I�m always left wondering �what were they going to say?� I�m not doing it intentionally to bait you, though if you return to find out what it is, I won�t be sad about that either. I�ve realized I�m an emotional exhibitionist. I like to expose my internal self and see who�s watching me. Yes, I know, I�m a freak. In light of that, I ran some banners, so thanks to all who have stopped by and many more thanks to those who have decided to stay. Welcome to my planet.






Daddy's gone - 2009-08-10
- - 2009-06-13
Bald Spots - 2009-03-25
Empty birthday cakes with suicidal shovels - 2009-03-05
Emptiness - 2009-03-03

last - next