navigate
current
archives
profile
website
email
gbook
notes
host
design

Woodstock
2005-06-19, 11:15 a.m.

My love affair with Woodstock began back in 1996. And it all started with this:

I had been wanting a (2nd) tattoo for a while and really wanted something different. I was also seriously in need of a symbol, something to collect and make all mine. I wanted something that wasn�t common. And I had always loved the Peanuts.

The tattoo hurt a lot but I embraced the pain. I got it shortly after falling into a deep pit of emotions. Several weeks earlier, I had gotten fired from a job and 2 weeks after that I had a very good friend die. The pain of the tattoo needle was a nice respite from the overwhelming emotions that were in charge all the time.

My collection blossomed after the tattoo. I scoured Ebay for Woodstock items. I made pilgrimages to Knott�s Berry Farm and to Santa Rosa to acquire more items. I soon had too many to display. For a while, if it had Woodstock on it, I had to own it. I�m much more discriminating now, though I�m probably one of the only people who goes to Knott�s Berry Farm just to buy Woodstock items. Last time I was there, I searched in vain for the dressed up Woodstock character so that I could take my picture with him. Alas, he was not to be found.

I love Woodstock because of his loyalty to Snoopy. He is a good friend and will stand by Snoopy no matter what. He�s feisty and doesn�t let anyone get over on him. He manages to communicate the full range of thought and emotion with one symbol � the exclamation point. Something about him just says joy to me. I need all the symbols of joy I can find.

And now I have just one more thing to say � !!! !!!!! !! !!!!!! !!!! !!






Daddy's gone - 2009-08-10
- - 2009-06-13
Bald Spots - 2009-03-25
Empty birthday cakes with suicidal shovels - 2009-03-05
Emptiness - 2009-03-03

last - next