navigate
current
archives
profile
website
email
gbook
notes
host
design

It wasn't a full house but it was a full weekend
2005-04-10, 6:50 p.m.

So, do you all remember this guy:

Okay, so this morning, I was inches away from him. I could have reached over, cut off a lock of hair and made my own John Stamos voodoo doll. And if you want the details, I guess you�ll just have to endure the rest of this boring entry until I get to them.

So here�s my weekend (actually, I guess I need to go back a little bit further)� I�ll spare the boring details of work, come home, watch the tube, sleep, work etc.

Thursday night, I had my date with Jim. He really is a nice guy and I get along well enough with him, I�m just not sure there�s any chemistry. I don�t know, I still have to give it a chance. I enjoy talking to him and spending time with him. But the truth is, I don�t enjoy kissing him. The real truth is I don�t enjoy kissing anyone but Brian right now. Kissing just feels so intimate. I don�t know if it�s about not wanting to get intimate with anyone, or just not wanting to get intimate with any one other than Brian right now. The whole idea of dating scares the crap out of me (while simultaneously exciting me) and I treat it similar to a roller coaster ride. I keep getting back in line, strapping on my seat belt, freaking out, going on the ride any ways, enjoying the rush, getting off then panicking. It�s an area where I run hot and cold. One day I love dating a lot of people, getting to know new people, getting out there and having fun. The next day, I just want to be alone and not be with anyone. The day after that, I just want to be with Brian. I feel like I have multiple personalities sometimes.

Jim was really nice (and is it that he�s too nice?). He has season tickets to the Angels, so he invited me to the game, took me to dinner before hand and told me that it�s okay if I don�t want to stay for the whole game, just to let him know when I�m ready to leave, etc. An Angel�s fan, willing to leave the game for me. I was really cold and he would keep trying to hold my hands to warm them up. It�s not that I mind his touch, it�s just that it still feels so foreign. There�s none of the physical intimacy that I shared with Brian, the instinctual reaction I have to just grabbing him when he�s close by�

Now I shall hit the fast forward button. Skipping the boring Friday I spent in bed with a headache, skipping the lazy Saturday I spent running errands, relaxing and doing very little. Skipping to Sunday morning. So this morning, my friend Char and I went to The House of Blues in Anaheim to see their Gospel Brunch. We did this as a way to celebrate our birthdays together (they are 5 days apart) and had been planning this for a while. It was really fantastic. The food was good and the music was great and very uplifting. I was really looking forward to trying the bread pudding. Much to my delight, when I got to the Bread pudding and read the menu card, it was Banana Bread Pudding. Have I mentioned my love for all things banana flavored? And it did not disappoint.

So I won�t call it the highlight of the day (which was a combination of the great music, the time with my friend Char, the excellent Banana Bread pudding, etc) but that is where I had my Stamos encounter. He was seated at a table just a few feet away from ours and on several occasions was actually sitting rather close to us. Wow� my big brush with celebrity.

After the HOB concert, it was back to Char�s for a quick change and then over to my friend Jana�s. Jana lives in Long Beach and you can look out of her balcony and see the Queen Mary. You can also watch the Long Beach Grand Prix. And we did.

She had a little party and you could watch the race right from her balcony. We had a better view than people who paid $160 to sit in the grandstands. It was a blast to watch. My company sponsors a race car and (dare I tell you, you might start stalking me) our car came in third.

Here�s a quick recap:
Date with Jim and an Angels game: pleasant evening out
Relaxation and errands on Saturday: rejuvenating
House of Blues Gospel Brunch: High-spirited and full of celebrity watching
Long Beach Grand Prix: Exciting and fun
Janet spends her weekend enjoying life and grateful to be alive: Priceless.






Daddy's gone - 2009-08-10
- - 2009-06-13
Bald Spots - 2009-03-25
Empty birthday cakes with suicidal shovels - 2009-03-05
Emptiness - 2009-03-03

last - next