navigate
current
archives
profile
website
email
gbook
notes
host
design

refreshment
2005-02-20, 10:15 p.m.

Soooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo�.

The date went really well. He e-mailed me during the day on Friday to confirm that we were still on and also to tell me he was looking forward to it. He called as he was leaving work to say he was on the way. He was witty, funny, charming, engaging. We met for dinner, then went to a movie, then had coffee and then made out in his car for a while. No funny stuff took place, just genuine kissing. He called me the next day to tell me what a great time he had. He did not play a single solitary game with me. It was refreshing.

What was even more refreshing was my own attitude. I didn�t get nervous over whether he would like me. I didn�t worry about saying or doing the wrong thing. I wasn�t concerned about impressing him. And, though I really enjoyed his company, I wasn�t afraid and insecure that he was going to disappear on me. Not because I didn�t want to see him again, but because he was just a nice date. He wasn�t my potential future husband or even boyfriend. He was just a guy whose company I was enjoying. I would like to enjoy it again, but if not, it�s okay too.

When I was driving home, and last night as well, I did really miss Brian. But it�s not an overwhelming sense of hurt, just missing him. I know it�s going to be okay and I allow myself to miss him and be a bit sad. But I�m also pumping myself up for the exciting new life I�m creating.

And that�s the news.

Oh, and I took some new pictures this evening, in preparation for my eventual return to dating. Here they are:

And for comparison, here�s my new face and my face pre-surgery:






Daddy's gone - 2009-08-10
- - 2009-06-13
Bald Spots - 2009-03-25
Empty birthday cakes with suicidal shovels - 2009-03-05
Emptiness - 2009-03-03

last - next