navigate
current
archives
profile
website
email
gbook
notes
host
design

fevers
2005-01-16, 9:10 a.m.

I haven't disappeared off the face of the earth, but it almost feels like I have. Tuesday night, I went to my dance class and about halfway through, I just started to feel really crappy, I kept getting dizzy and had some severe abdominal pain on my right side. It actually felt exactly like when I had gallstones, but I don't have a gallbladder anymore.

The pain was so bad I contemplated going to the emergency room, but I knew I'd be there a while and I had several meetings on Wednesday that I really couldn't miss. So I just came home, took some Alleve and the pain subsided enough for me to sleep.

The next day I felt okay, but then halfway through the day, my joints started hurting so bad I could barely walk. People were asking me if I was okay because I was walking so funny. Then about an hour after that, I got chills, body aches and skin sensitivity. Those are always my signs that I have a fever. So I left work a little early and went home.

Our bodies get fevers for a reason, and they have a purpose, so if it doesn't get too high, I usually let it go and do it's job. But when it got up to 102.4, I took some alleve. That knocked it down, took away the aches and helped me sleep. I actually felt okay the next morning when I woke up and since I had, once again, several meetings I couldn't miss, I went to work.

The fever and aches came back about halfway through the day and so I left early again. Every night, my fever has hovered between 100 and 102. Even with medicine, it doesn't come all the way down, and it doesn't stay down very long.

At first I thought it was the flu, but usually with the flu, your fever gets lower each day and you feel a little better each day. I've been reading on line and it says if you have the flu but your fever lasts longer than 4 days you should see a doctor. So today is day 5 and I woke up with a fever. It's broken right now, so I'm just going to wait and see when it comes back and how high it gets, but I'll probably be visiting urgent care or the ER tomorrow.

So that's really all that's going on in my life right now. I haven't been able to exercise. I've been drinking lots of water and watching a gazillion DVD's. Finished the first season of Queer as Folk and I can't wait to get the 2nd season DVD's. I am more than halfway through the 2nd season of CSI. In 3 days, I watched 5 discs. Plus I have the first 4 seasons of the sopranos so I have a lot to keep me busy. It's perfect because I'm spending a lot of time in bed.

Here's to hoping this all passes soon.






Daddy's gone - 2009-08-10
- - 2009-06-13
Bald Spots - 2009-03-25
Empty birthday cakes with suicidal shovels - 2009-03-05
Emptiness - 2009-03-03

last - next