navigate
current
archives
profile
website
email
gbook
notes
host
design

It wasn't the flu
2005-01-17, 6:56 p.m.

So I don't have the flu. After 6 days of a fever and the onset of additional symptoms (vomiting and severe headache, also really bad neck pain) I contemplated going to the ER. So, because I work for a healthcare company, I did the right thing and called my doctor first. She called me right back and said I could go to the ER or if I didn't go then she could see me the next day. Seeing your doctor in their office is thousands of times cheaper and quicker. So I figured I'd try to get through the night but that if my fever went above 102 or I vomited again, I would go to the ER.

I didn't vomit again and I was able to bring my fever down with Tylenol. I called her office as soon as they opened and went in at 3. I have a severe bladder infection (weird, I never felt any of the normal symptoms), it has spread to my kidneys (since apparently, I've had it for a while) and may also have gotten in my blood stream. She gave me antibiotics and then did some blood tests. I had to have a blood culture done so she'll see what grows to see if I have a blood infection. I have to go back on Thursday, because of the severity of the infection she wants to check it to make sure it's improving on the antibiotics.

It was a fun day, but at least now with the antibiotics, I can begin getting better. 6 days with a fever really sucks the life out of you. And this short entry is simply all I have the energy for -- I'm off to bed.

I just have this to say, I wish I hadn't just assumed it was the flu. I could have gotten treatment DAYS ago and I would feel better already. Lesson learned.






Daddy's gone - 2009-08-10
- - 2009-06-13
Bald Spots - 2009-03-25
Empty birthday cakes with suicidal shovels - 2009-03-05
Emptiness - 2009-03-03

last - next