navigate
current
archives
profile
website
email
gbook
notes
host
design

The Nemesis goes down
2004-04-15, 1:23 p.m.

I keep saying it�s been 10 years, but I think it�s really only been 8. Only. Yeah, like 8 isn�t enough. And I�m not talking about the TV show, though I must confess I really did love that show. I�m talking about the last time I rode a roller coaster. (on a side note, how is it that Willie Ames went from playing in a drama like Eight is Enough to being a total idiot on Charles in Charge?)

So, many thanks go out to JoeBoxer. 1st of all, for accompanying me on my return to Magic Mountian. 2nd of all, and most importantly, for buying me an annual pass to Magic Mountain so I can return again and again and again. This is the year of roller coasters. Watch out equilibrium. Watch out inner ears. You are in for it.

We arrived right when the park opened and went on 5 roller coasters. I was able to conquer my nemesis so the day was a success. When I was at Magic Mountain 8 years ago, I was able to get on most of the rides, but I was very uncomfortable and I didn�t fit well. In another few pounds, I knew I wouldn�t fit at all. My best estimate is that I was about 300 at the time. I tried to get on Batman, but they couldn�t get the buckle to close and I had to get off. Talk about embarrassing. So, ever since then, I have considered the Batman ride the key to knowing I have succeeded. It was very important that I go on this ride. And I did! With plenty of room to spare. In fact, I fit very comfortably on every ride. JoeBoxer, at 6�4��, had more trouble than I had. The best ride of the day was X. This roller coaster is amazing. You are buckled in to this seat and the seat flips around forwards and backwards. Then in addition to that, the roller coaster has twists, turns and flips. So your seat is rotating, and the ride is rotating. It was absolutely amazing. Amazing. And since I now have an annual pass, I will return and ride this again. And again. And again. Until I find myself puking at the mere thought of it.

I�d like to provide you a little insight into the mind of JoeBoxer. Here are some examples of the kinds of conversations JoeBoxer and I have:

�If you could make a band with 5 people from our department, who would you pick and what instrument would they play?�

Driving by a 1950�s trailer park (well, a modern trailer park but with old 1950�s trailers) �Who do we know who lives in that 1950�s single wide trailer?� (not that we really know the person who lives in that particular trailer, but more like, who do we know who could live in that trailer)

�What 5 concerts do you have to go to before you die?�

�If you could pick 5 places in the world, and those were the only 5 places you could go for the rest of your life (with each state in the US representing 1 place, and each country outside the US representing another place), what 5 places would you pick?�

We work together, so a lot of our questions are about work � like picking 5 people to go to a party, 5 people we would hire if we started our own company, 5 people we would fire if we had to fire 5 people. We like the number 5.

So, these are the things we talked about as we waited in line. There was only one incident that even came close to an attempt to ruin my day. It happened when we were waiting in one of the lines. There were some bitchy teens behind me in line and they kept jostling me and standing right up next to me. So close that they were touching me at times. And I have huge issues about personal space. I just don�t think there�s a need to be that close to a stranger. I mean, it�s not going to get you on the ride any faster. And they were those teenagers who can�t stand still so they were constantly bumping me and hitting me and all of that. So one time, when the line moved up, I leaned against the bar and put my arms out so that they couldn�t invade my space. I was wearing a t-shirt with very short sleeves, almost more like a cap sleeve. Now I still have a lot of fat on my arms and also a ton of extra skin so my arms definitely have that bat wing thing going on. Well, right in front of me, these girls start joking around about my arms. They have their arms up in the air and they are swinging them and making jokes, pretending like they are waving to someone with the stuff that hangs down (well, doesn�t hang down on them, but on me�). And I AM RIGHT THERE! It really pissed me off but I didn�t let it ruin my day. I just ignored them and had a good time. But please, anyone have any advice about what I should have said to these brats?

So that�s my life. Nothing too exciting going on. Last night, I went over to our community pool and sat in the jacuzzi for about 20 minutes. I was the only one there. The jacuzzi overlooks the lake so it was very peaceful, beautiful and serene. I think I need to use this more often. It�s a good stress reliever.

I�ve been really frustrated because I haven�t heard from TheSpaceCowboy in over 2 weeks. He hasn�t even read any of my e-mails in over 2 weeks. It makes me start to worry. But no men in suits have shown up with bad news so I just have to trust that everything is okay. It�s just that when we don�t communicate, he just feels so far away and I miss him so much. I can�t imagine going another 5 months without seeing him, but that may be what it is, or longer. I just don�t even know. And that makes me question EVERYTHING. So, today, I called his phone just to hear his voice. But wow, he picked up. Our connection was really bad and we lost the call as soon as it had begun, but at least I know he�s alive. And then I called back a few minutes later and we had a 10 second conversation. It was just good to hear his voice, we didn�t have time to talk about anything that matters, but at least he�s alive and I got to hear him say �I Love You�. That has to be enough for now.

Oh, and then I have had this spot on my sternum that is sort of raised up, not really like a lump, but like a thickening of the bone or skin or muscle or something. And it's been tender for a while. So yesterday I went to the doctor. She's not sure what it is. On the far end of the spectrum, it could be cancer or a bone disease, but I really don't think it's that. Or it could be nothing. Or a couple things in between. So she's running a million tests and I had to get X-rays taken. I go back in 2 weeks. I'm determined not to be an alarmist and start freaking out like i did with the whole eye/brain tumor/going blind thing. Wish me luck.






Daddy's gone - 2009-08-10
- - 2009-06-13
Bald Spots - 2009-03-25
Empty birthday cakes with suicidal shovels - 2009-03-05
Emptiness - 2009-03-03

last - next