navigate
current
archives
profile
website
email
gbook
notes
host
design

Confessions of a Peeps Murderer
2004-04-17, 6:38 p.m.

I love peeps. They are one of the most awesome treats known to man. I actually like mine completely hardened by life, stale and chewy. I like them after they�ve served hard time and been beaten by the guards and worked in the prison laundry. I like to leave them open for a few weeks and let them dry out.

I was a little sad when Easter was over because I didn�t feel that I had my proper share of stale Peeps this year. I have been trying to end, or at least reduce, the gratuitous sugar-fest, so in a way, I was kind of glad the Peeps were gone. But then, I was in a grocery store the other day, and there they were. Lonely little Peeps, no Easter Bunny to save them, sitting in a grocery cart at the front of the store marked half-off. I had to rescue them and save them from their humiliation.

Yes, I bought 4 packages of Peeps. As soon as I got to my car, I opened all 4 packages. And then I left them there. I have 4 (well, now it�s more like 3.5) packages of Peeps drying out and getting hard. I wish I knew how to speed up the process.

So, it got me to thinking about this time when I was in college. It was my first year of college at UC Santa Cruz and I was living on campus in an apartment that I shared with 6 other girls. My birthday is usually around Easter and my mom had sent me a little portable barbecue for my birthday along with some money to buy the hamburgers and fixins�. I remember after the barbecue, we were thinking how nice it would be to make s�mores but we didn�t buy the stuff for them. Then one girl remembered that she had graham crackers. Another remembered she had some chocolate. All we were missing was marshmallows.

Okay, folks. You know where this is going, right?

Then I remembered the PEEPS.

Those were the best S�mores I ever had.

EVER.






Daddy's gone - 2009-08-10
- - 2009-06-13
Bald Spots - 2009-03-25
Empty birthday cakes with suicidal shovels - 2009-03-05
Emptiness - 2009-03-03

last - next