navigate
current
archives
profile
website
email
gbook
notes
host
design

Death and....
2004-03-21, 9:13 p.m.

Friday afternoon, I get a phone call from my mom telling me that my Uncle George died that morning.

Saturday afternoon, I get a phone call from my mom telling me that my Uncle Lyn died that morning.

2 days. 2 uncles. Different sides of the family. How whacked out is that?

I mean, I�m not in bed crying. These were both very sick men and death is a gift to them. They lived rich and full lives. But they were my connection to the past. And that is gone now.

My uncle George was a painter and jovial to the end even as the cancer raged and ravaged his body. He lived in Chicago in a penthouse on Lake Michigan. He taught art and got his joy from that. Most significant memory: When I was 10 we went to Chicago for a visit. We were playing on the terrace and we were climbing up on the wall to see the lake and the city, etc. I rolled onto the ledge, the wall along the edge was about 2 feet wide. I was hoisting my body up on it and rolling the rest of me onto it, but I forgot that it was a wall and just kept rolling. My uncle George reached out and grabbed my jacket. Thanks Uncle George for saving my life and preventing me from plummeting 15 stories into the lake.

I really don�t have many memories of my uncle Lyn. We were much closer to my mother�s side of the family. I have no stories to tell of him. I can�t change that fact now.

So, as promised to Carrie , here is a picture of my drippy legs.. Note the lovely drip hanging there above the back of my knees, but also, note the sexy waist!

And, I also spent some time tonight trying on my �before� jeans. It�s weird how heavy they are, all that material. I never noticed they were so heavy, but now that I�m wearing much smaller clothing, I noticed it. Very strange.

I spent a delightful day organizing my nylons, taking some clothes over to my parents, watching Schindler�s List (I can�t even count how many times it made me cry), talking to Hothead on line, packing up some shoes and packing up some clothes to give to charity. Yesterday, I had to work, blech! But then at about 7:30 PM an old friend called me to tell me that a group of old friends were getting together for dinner and I should join them. And so I did. I saw people I hadn�t seen in years and they were all stunned and amazed at how amazing I looked�. This part never gets old.






Daddy's gone - 2009-08-10
- - 2009-06-13
Bald Spots - 2009-03-25
Empty birthday cakes with suicidal shovels - 2009-03-05
Emptiness - 2009-03-03

last - next