navigate
current
archives
profile
website
email
gbook
notes
host
design

Messy Desk
2004-03-31, 10:26 a.m.

This is what it�s like to be me. I bring in some breakfast to work, or maybe I brought lunch. I eat my breakfast or lunch. I then set the bowl/container aside and forget about it. Several days pass. Several weeks pass. Containers and bowls and cups accumulate. Soon, my desk is covered in dirty dishes. This is so disgusting. I don�t know why I don�t just wash them as soon as I�m done eating. I�m not like this at home, just at work. Sometimes, I just throw the containers away because I get too overwhelmed. How crazy is this: Dirty dishes overwhelm me.

I LIKE having a clean desk. I work better with a clean desk. I feel better with a clean desk. But I NEVER have a clean desk. Right now, if you look around my little cubicle, you�d see this: it�s an L shaped desk with my computer in the joint of the L. Along the small part of the L, there is a stack of cd�s on top of a book with a dirty dish on that. Then there is a little collection of pictures and Woodstock knickknacks. Then there is a smattering of assorted papers, office supplies, vitamins that I�ve forgotten to take, a small tupperware container filled with crystal light, a tin of cookies, Alleve, and then a large stack of papers that I�m afraid to deal with.

On the long arm of the L, you�d see this, 3 large stacks of scary paper, an inbox that�s overflowing with paper, a box of girl scout cookies, christmas decorations I have yet to put away, assorted office supplies, a phone, a box full of post-it notes, some pictures and some Woodstock Knickknacks.

Everytime I go to start on a work project, I realize that I can�t get started until I clean my desk because generally, I�m going to need something that is buried in one of the piles OR my desk is too messy for me to even begin to concentrate on a new project. It�s scary. So, because my director doesn�t believe in taking a breath, I have a new and exciting project to get started on. I need to get my desk cleaned. Between today and tomorrow, it must be clean. I must file all papers. I must throw away all trash. I must wash and put away all containers.

My director has now asked (required) me to write another training manual with April 30th as the deadline. She has no idea how much is involved in writing a training manual. And here�s the kicker, I am writing a manual for a job I have no idea how to perform. So this is going to be fun. Because I�ll have to learn the job to write it. And I have a whole other list of things that need to be done ASAP, per her and per my boss. I was really hoping for a little break after the whole REVA (the software we just implemented) thing. I�ve been working my ass off for about 3 or more solid months. I�m tired. I just want a chance to catch my breath before jumping into the next project. No such luck.

Aaaaaaand, I�ve decided NOT to take a vacation right now. The whole move thing really threw me off and then with this new project and quick deadline, I just don�t have the time. But I am taking a day off to go to Magic Mountain and fulfill one of my post-surgery wishes. I am also taking a day off to go see a taping of The Ellen Degeneres Show. That is going to be fun, she is hilarious. I have some extra tickets if anyone wants to go!!!

So, I haven�t updated in forever. I�ll try not to do this again. But sometimes, I�m just not sure what to say.






Daddy's gone - 2009-08-10
- - 2009-06-13
Bald Spots - 2009-03-25
Empty birthday cakes with suicidal shovels - 2009-03-05
Emptiness - 2009-03-03

last - next