navigate
current
archives
profile
website
email
gbook
notes
host
design

My year in pictures
2004-01-20, 9:39 a.m.

So last year, I went to the movies 2 times. All year. Granted, I was pretty busy having multiple surgeries and all those constant dates with the surgeon and all my medical appointments and all that fun stuff. But still. 2 movies in 12 months. Kind of pathetic. I think the year before that, I only went to a couple of movies also. There are several reasons for this. The main reason is I just didn't have people to go to the movies with. That's partly because I had so many unreliable friends. Or my friends were dating and/or married and just weren't able to get out with the girls for a movie. Well, life is much improved. I've managed to make some new friends that are much more reliable and that helps. I really love going to the movies and miss going. So, this year is going to be the "Year in Pictures". I'm going to go the movies a lot more often. In fact, so far this year, I've already gone to 4 movies. I saw 3 this past weekend. So here's my selections so far:

-My Baby's Daddy -- a few good laughs, but you can safely wait for the DVD

-Something's Gotta Give -- a very funny movie. Love Jack and Diane.

-Monster -- Oscars are in this movies future. Excellent movie.

-Along Came Polly -- Funny movie and enjoyable. Didn't watch the clock at all with this movie.

I think that I'm going to make sure I go to at least one movie every month this year. This should be very doable. Along those lines, I figured it was time to do my "New Year's Resolutions". Now, I don't think resolutions have to be all about changing things and doing things I don't necessarily want to do. For me, resolutions are about making sure I have the life I want. So here goes:

-Go to at least 1 movie a month

-Have a girl's night out at least once a month

-Exercise 3 times a week (God, I need to get back in this habit)

-Get down to a size 14 or less

-Make 2 new friends

-Finish my novel

-Get together with friends for crafting at least 1 time a month

-Get a new job (giving myself all year for this because part of this entails figuring out what I want to do and what job will make me happy)

-Finish my degree

-Get up to the end of 2002 in my scrapbook

I think that's good enough for a year. If I can accomplish all of that, I will feel great.

So the other night, I was thinking about this: What are the 5 things I would do differently if given the chance? In no particular order, here are my 5:

-Go out with Brian the first time he asked

-Not get married

-Finished my degree back in 1995

-Have the gastric bypass before I reached 366 pounds

-Find a way to be happy with myself in my 20's and not wait for my 30's for happiness and self-esteem

So there you have it. I picked things that, if I changed, I would not anticipate any negative consequences. It's hard to think like this, because I know that so often, changing one small thing, has a far greater impact on our lives than we could imagine. But looking at these 5 things, I can only think of positive outcomes. The point is moot, however, as I really don't have the option to change them. The only real issue is: what am I going to do differently in the future? So, on that note, I'm out of here, because I don't really have an answer. Oh, and leave me a comment, tell me your biggest regret in life. Inquiring minds want to know. And go to a movie, this weekend. Do it for me.






Daddy's gone - 2009-08-10
- - 2009-06-13
Bald Spots - 2009-03-25
Empty birthday cakes with suicidal shovels - 2009-03-05
Emptiness - 2009-03-03

last - next