navigate
current
archives
profile
website
email
gbook
notes
host
design

Nicknames
2004-01-15, 6:23 p.m.

My boyfriend is the king of nicknames. Every conversation, he calls me something different. Here are just a few of his selections:

Monster girl

Bubby

Elephant (for my memory, not my girth)

Fuzzy

Maybelline

Wild Thing

Girly Girl

Sexy Girl

Princess

Little Girl

Puddles (don't ask, though I'll tell you why if you do)

Gracie (as in Say goodnight Gracie)

And then the usual Honey Baby Sweetie stuff

I must admit, I've caught the bug myself and started calling him all sorts of nicknames. The newest one is Space Cowboy. And that's the one I like best. I might start referring to him as Space Cowboy here, since I know he hates the fact that his actual name is out there (Can anyone say overly paranoid?). I think it fits him. And I like it.

The one thing I love about nicknames, they are endearing. To me, if someone uses a nickname for me, it indicates a certain level of intimacy, familiarity, comfort. It makes me feel all googly inside, loved and cared for. Even the weird ones like fuzzy. So, the jury is in, nicknames are a good thing.






Daddy's gone - 2009-08-10
- - 2009-06-13
Bald Spots - 2009-03-25
Empty birthday cakes with suicidal shovels - 2009-03-05
Emptiness - 2009-03-03

last - next