navigate
current
archives
profile
website
email
gbook
notes
host
design

Mississippi, hernia and patience
2003-08-28, 12:40 p.m.

Well, I'm about to head out on a trip to Mississippi for the next 9-10 days. Road trip baby!!! So I thought I'd post an entry before I go. I might be able to do some updates while I'm gone but no guarantees. I always say I'm going to update more often, but then life gets in the way. The last two weeks, I just feel so tired when I get home that it's hard to do anything else. Plus, I've been fighting a cold and for some reason, the cold medicine makes me wake up in the middle of the night for about 3-4 hours. Ugh, I hate that. But the cold is going away now and I'm back to sleeping through the night. Well, with exception. My little kitty cat likes to wake me up in the middle of the night to either cuddle or play. She likes to sleep as close to my face as possible and will come and put her face so close to mine that her whiskers tickle me. Then she'll put her paw on my cheek and meow. If it wasn't 4 AM, I would think this was adorable. She's really a sweet little cat, and getting to be much easier to take care of, much more self-sufficient.

So, I think I have a hernia. I'm not very excited about this. I have a lot of pain in my incision area, low down close to the belly button, and when I cough, it bulges out. Since I am just getting back on track from the gallbladder surgery, there is NO WAY I'm going to have surgery on this right away. I'll have surgery if it becomes life threatening, but otherwise, I'm going to try to wait as long as possible. I only have 2 more weeks of FMLA coverage this year, so if I had to have surgery I could only be out two weeks. It's better if I wait until after February when I have more FMLA time.

I am really excited about this trip. I went there last year with a friend. Her whole family is back there and her son goes back there every summer. So last year, we went to get him together. I had never been to the south so it was a fun experience for me. We took a day trip to Memphis and came home through New Orleans. We had a great time, but it was sooooo hot. Plus, I was so much heavier then. I am looking forward to experiencing it at a smaller weight, a time when I have more energy, look better and feel better. I didn't think I was going to get to go because of the hernia, but my boss agreed to let me have time off without pay and my friend told me she'd compensate me for the lost hours. She wouldn't be able to make that drive on her own. We are going to stop in New Orleans on the way for some adult fun. We couldn't really party last year in New Orleans becuase we had her son with us. Look out Louisiana!

The one sad thing about this trip is this: My friend, we'll call him Fido, The sweet guy with the crazy job, well, he's been gone for about 6 weeks. I am leaving tonight, he's coming home tomorrow night. He has to leave again next Friday, and I won't be home until Saturday. Then he'll be gone another month to 6 weeks. UGH! When we found this out, I cried. I was so sad, I can't believe the only week he's going to be home, I'm going to be gone. Unbelievable. But we talked about it last night and I feel a lot better about the whole thing. He won't be gone forever. The hard thing is that this is a guy I really care about. Maybe even love. We've known each other for such a long time, but really only started dating in the last couple of months. It's hard to really know how I feel about him so I'm trying not to jump the gun. He's really the first guy I feel I can trust and count on. When he says he'll do something, he does it. I don't feel like he's going to drop off the face of the earth and avoid my phone calls and e-mails like so many other guys I've dated. His only drawback is the job. Not much I can do about that. Just going to stick it out and see where things go. In the meantime, I'm not saying I won't date anyone else, in fact, I had a date last night.. Just going to see where things go and not give up on him so easy. I just feel like we have too much invested in each other not to give it a chance. Who knows where he'll be in the next few years, maybe he'll be ready to retire. Sometimes at 35 I feel so old, and other times I feel like I still have my whole life ahead of me. I guess it's about patience really. The best things in life are worth waiting for.






Daddy's gone - 2009-08-10
- - 2009-06-13
Bald Spots - 2009-03-25
Empty birthday cakes with suicidal shovels - 2009-03-05
Emptiness - 2009-03-03

last - next