navigate
current
archives
profile
website
email
gbook
notes
host
design

"Hey, you've lost weight!"
2003-08-21, 10:18 a.m.

Yesterday was the day of compliments. Everywhere I went, someone commented on my weight loss and how good I look. It was so weird, like about 25 people mentioned something to me. All in one day. But it was fun. It�s always good to know that the loss is noticeable. I haven�t had a situation where someone didn�t recognize me, but I�m okay with that. I still look like me, just not so big and bloated. My work ID badge has a picture that was taken at my highest weight. My face looks so bloated in that picture, it�s crazy. But I keep it so I can see how far I�ve come. Once I get closer to goal, I�m going to get a new picture taken. And a new driver�s license picture too. I can�t wait until I�m the weight on my driver�s license. Only 70 pounds to go before my license is telling the truth!

I have decided to add protein shakes to my daily regimen. I think that most days, I�m not hitting my protein, some days yes, some days no. So I want to add the shakes to see if it helps speed up the loss. Also, I�ve been so tired and I am hoping that adding the protein shakes will increase my energy level. And another reason to add the shakes is that I�m starting my workouts and if I want to build muscle, I need to take in more protein to support the growth. So I bought a blender and some protein powder at Walmart. Yesterday, I made a shake with some powder, some vanilla yogurt, frozen bananas, ice and water. It was pretty good. This morning, I had a shake with powder, peach yogurt, frozen peaches, ice and water. It was also pretty tasty. I have some shake samples from Vitalady (www.vitalady.com) that I�m going to try as well. It works pretty good because I make up the shake in the morning, then drink it on my way to work. So by the time I get to work (or shortly after), I have already had 30 grams of protein and some fluid. I count the shakes as fluid too, though not the whole shake, because some of it is food. But there�s water and ice in there, and that�s all fluid.

I have been doing good at avoiding sugar. Now when I say no sugar, I don�t count the sugar that is in fruit or may be in any protein bar or shake. I�m talking about sugar for sugar�s sake� like eating something just for the sweet taste�cookies, candy, ice cream, cake, etc. I haven�t had any for the last 3 days. Which is great, because the temptation is still there. I didn�t even cave in and have ice cream at that meeting. I�m going to keep this up for a while.

I did get to the gym the other night. I almost didn�t go. As I was driving to the gym, I realized that I had forgotten my lock so I thought, well, I guess I can�t go.. I�m so lame, just taking any excuse not to exercise. So I went home and then thought, well, I still have time to make it to the class, so I better go. I need to go. So I got up, grabbed the lock, put on my bathing suit and made it in time for the water aerobics class. I had a great workout and really could feel it in my muscles the next day. Of course, that night, my knee was aching, but I�m not going to let that stop me. I need to build back up the muscles in my legs so my knees won�t hurt as much. Tonight, I�m going to go again to the water aerobics class. They have that class on Tuesday and Thursday nights, so my plan is to go both of those nights and then go 2 other times during the week and ride the bike and do weights. I think this will work well for me. They do have a water aerobics class on Saturdays, but it starts at 9 and I�m just not a morning person. One thing I love about weekends is that I don�t have to jump up and get moving right away, I can take my time in the morning, lay in bed for a while, lounge around after my shower. So if I had to be somewhere at 9 (even though I�m usually awake by then), it just takes away the relaxation. I�d rather relax in the morning and go ride the bike for an hour, then jump up and try to make the class. So, that�s my plan and hopefully I�ll be faithful to it. I also thought about getting a yoga tape and start doing yoga at home a couple of times a week. We�ll see how that goes.

All for now, got to get back to work.






Daddy's gone - 2009-08-10
- - 2009-06-13
Bald Spots - 2009-03-25
Empty birthday cakes with suicidal shovels - 2009-03-05
Emptiness - 2009-03-03

last - next