navigate
current
archives
profile
website
email
gbook
notes
host
design

Men
2003-07-17, 8:18 a.m.

I am getting ready to pick up my nephew and head to the beach for the day (and night) and I thought I'd post an entry before I go....

I'm not sleeping all that well since the arrival of the new kitty. She's only about 7 weeks old and still very needy. She tends to sleep from about 7 to 12 then wakes up for a bit, then sleeps again until about 4 or 5 AM. When she is awake, she wants attention and needs help still finding the litter box and the food. I really love her but guess I wasn't ready for this kind of work. Good thing she's a kitten and not a baby. She'll grow up a lot faster! I love children and want some someday but she's reminding me why I am not ready yet!

Some strange news on the love front: The long background story first. I met this guy on line (I don't mind meeting people from on line, to me, you'll meet the same weirdos in a bar as you will on line). We'd been talking for over a month and decided to meet. I took a chance and went to his condo where he cooked me dinner. We had dinner, talked, swam in his jacuzzi, watched a movie. We had great conversation and totally connected. I can't remember the last time I had such a good time on a first date. Lately, the men I've been dating, we haven't connected right away like that, but I grew to care for them over time. This guy, I liked him from the first minute I got to his house. And I could tell he liked me. I was totally comfortable with him, we had great conversation, everything went totally well. When I left his house, he asked me when he could see me again and we made plans for the following Saturday. We talked and exchanged e-mails all week.. he continued to tell me that he had a great time and was looking forward to seeing me. As the week went on, he mentioned that he had a cold, then it was getting worse and he worried that he had strep throat, but that if it got bad, he'd go get a shot for it and was still planning to see me on Saturday. When Saturday came, I received no word from him. I wasn't sure what to think, not knowing if he was so sick that he couldn't get in touch with me or what. You know how men are when they are sick, the world just stops revolving. He didn't show that night. I gave him the benefit of the doubt and sent him an e-mail to see if he was okay, and to let him know that I missed him for Saturday. I never heard from him. This really bummed me out because I had such a good time and didn't understand what happened. I couldn't get over it, even though we only had one date.

Well, lo and behold, guess who contacts me last night??? That's right. So I asked him what happened. He said he felt bad because he knows he stood me up, that his ship (he's in the Navy) was in and out of port and so life was a bit crazy. He said that in August, he's going out to sea for 6 months and just started to get weird, feeling like he didn't want to get attached before he had to ship out. He said he often freaks out before he goes out to sea, and was in denial, hoping he wouldn't have to go. Then he got caught up in all the details of getting ready. Said he felt really bad and wanted to contact me but didn't know how I'd react... Well, I'm a very forgiving person, and believe everyone makes mistakes now and then. I would want someone to forgive me if I made a mistake. So, I forgave him and he's supposed to come up here tomorrow and we are going out. Of course, he's still going out to sea for 6 months, so right now, we really can only be friends. But, I'll keep ya'll posted.

That's all for today, gotta go dry my hair before it's a frizzy mess.






Daddy's gone - 2009-08-10
- - 2009-06-13
Bald Spots - 2009-03-25
Empty birthday cakes with suicidal shovels - 2009-03-05
Emptiness - 2009-03-03

last - next