navigate
current
archives
profile
website
email
gbook
notes
host
design

Garanimals, Full House and Cancer
2007-12-02, 7:01 p.m.

Did anyone else out there wear Garanimals??? My Garanimals were giraffes. If you don't know what a Garnimal is, I'm so sorry, you missed an important milestone in childrens fashion. Basically, different lines of clothing were given an animal on the tag and you could match it to any other clothing item with the same animal. Pretty fucking amazing, huh? No, actually it was pretty dorky but at the time, well, it was cool.

Also, I love finding current supastars in old TV shows. I saw Jennifer Garner in an episode of Full House. (Shut Up, you try recovering from surgery and being left to the mercy of daytime television!).

Things are just progressing with my dad. He started chemo and he'll be on chemo for 3 months to shrink the tumor and then they'll see if he's a candidate for surgery at that point. I'm a little less scared than I was initially. Esophageal cancer has a 15% survival rate over 5 years BUT most people don't know they have it until it's spread all over. By fluke, they caught my dad's fairly early, though earlier would be better. It has reached the first set of lymph nodes but hasn't spread beyond that and isn't in any other organ. He did pretty well after his first dose of chemo (a 6 to 7 hour process where someone has to be in the hospital the whole time but not allowed to sit with him, contrary to what they show on TV shows. Non-chemos bring germs. Germs are bad for Chemos. My dad has named his cancer Michael Vick and nicknamed it MV. We're all settling in to life with cancer.

I'm starting to actually feel better so that's good, though I notice the pain quite a bit when I do any sort of walking/standing or sitting up (as opposed to sitting with a chair where I'm actually leaning back in to the chair with the chair supporting me instead of my stomach muscles.) In my mindset I am ready for work and posted my resume on Monster as well as applied for several positions. I have had some people contacting me who searched and found my resume so that's exciting. I have one recruiter who has two jobs that would be good fits for me.

The best news of all--My Danny has moved back to California. I call him my gay boyfriend. We both joke about it because in our whole relationship, including traveling together multiple times, we have never argued. And even when we disagree, it's more like a heated debate and once the debate is over, neither one of us has any ill will, it's just that we both enjoy a good conversation. And best of all, Danny gets me out of the house on a regular basis. Danny gives me everything I want/need in a relationship except sex and then I have Brian for that. We are planning to get an apartment together once we are both settled in decent jobs. We've even discussed being a couple without sex, it would be different, but I'm sure it's out there. In our minds, any thing wonderful that happens to one of us is for both of us. And I cant wait for him to meet my Heidikins cuz I know that once they get used to each other, they are going to love each other.

That's all for now. I'm a little achy today because I did too much yesterday. But I have my xmas shopping done, so that's fantastic and now I just need to wrap and get things in the mail. Woo Hoo.

Anyways my friends, I'm alive and coping pretty well, trying to focus on the future and how awesome it can be if I let it.

Smooches.






Daddy's gone - 2009-08-10
- - 2009-06-13
Bald Spots - 2009-03-25
Empty birthday cakes with suicidal shovels - 2009-03-05
Emptiness - 2009-03-03

last - next