navigate
current
archives
profile
website
email
gbook
notes
host
design

Clumsy girl and ode to Quincy
2006-12-14, 8:30 p.m.

Proof positive that I am the clumsiest person alive (or at least in 2006):

What happened? Well, stupid clumsy wreck that I am, I slipped in the shower (not the stairs this time) and banged my forehead on the handle to the shower door. I was just grateful I didn�t split it open and require stitches. It�s still rather sore and quite pretty though.

On to other news.

When I moved in to my last apartment, you know the one with the Whiskey Tango (and their fun domestic violence episode which led me to move out before the end of the lease), I got the cutest little kitten:

She only weighed one pound the first time I took her to the vet. She followed me everywhere and if she wasn�t laying somewhere on my body, she was just miserable. If I was typing at the computer, she was so small that she would climb up on my shoulder and curl up in a ball (on my shoulder!) and fall asleep. As she got older, it she would just sort of wrap her self around my shoulders or curl up on my lap (getting quite in the way of the keyboard).

She slept with me every night. When she was really little, if I slept on my side, she would curl up right on my hip. If I slept on my back, she�d curl up on my tummy. As she got older, she began sleeping in the crook of my neck. I often woke up at 4 in the morning with her paw on my cheek, her face staring at mine and a soft �meow� saying, please pay attention to me, I�m awake now.

At Christmas, she loved hanging out under the Christmas tree and was quite mad when I started putting presents under there and taking up her lounging space. She only played with the ornaments and bows and such a little bit. And there was a stocking and presents for here too�.

Every day, when I came home from work, I could count on one thing: Quincy would be curled up asleep on my bed.

After the night of domestic violence, things in the apartment went quickly down hill, threats were made and I had to keep Quincy in my room all the time. I just knew it was no life for a 9 month old cat, so I asked my aunt and uncle if they would take her. I moved in with my parents soon after to protect my own safety.

After a brief adjustment, Quincy loved her new environment. In the apartment, I didn�t dare let her wander around outside, so she only had the apartment as her domain. At my aunt and uncles, she had a 5 bedroom house, 5 people to pay attention to and a large backyard to wander around. She had mice and birdies to chase and room to roam around.

I found out this morning that yesterday, she was hanging out in the front yard and was hit by a car. My aunt took her to the vet but there was too much damage and she had to be put to sleep.

Even though I haven�t lived with her for a while, it still hurts to know that she�s gone. But what I am glad about is that the last 3 years of her life were so happy. She had a big house to roam in, a big yard and little critters to chase and several young boys who loved holding her and petting her, she also had another kitty friend to play with. She may have lived a short life, but she lived a good one. She was a good friend and I wish her the best in Kitty Heaven.






Daddy's gone - 2009-08-10
- - 2009-06-13
Bald Spots - 2009-03-25
Empty birthday cakes with suicidal shovels - 2009-03-05
Emptiness - 2009-03-03

last - next