navigate
current
archives
profile
website
email
gbook
notes
host
design

WWWD
2006-10-19, 3:43 p.m.

I think we�re all familiar now with the WWJD thing, right?

My friend Danny wrote WWDD on his hand once. One of his family members (distant) saw it and was all happy that he�d converted and started talking all about �jeezus� with him. The guy (cousin I think), didn�t see that it was a D, not a J. And regardless of my belief system, you have to know Danny. He is just so not a believer of anything like religion. He believes in the god of Danny.

Well, I can�t do the same, because, well, my name starts with a J, so everyone would just think I was toeing the line. And not that there might not be a line to tow (or is it toe?), I�m not living that life right now� and it�s, well, painfully obvious really. So then I�d just add to the people who think of many Christians as hypocritical. And I don�t want to go there. If/when I choose to re-use that term for myself, I will be living according to the beliefs the term encompasses.

So, for now, my philosophy is WWWD. What Would Woodstock Do?

I make no bones of the fact that that little yellow bird is my hero. Now let�s explore why his philosophy of life is worthy of disciples:

  • Woodstock speaks his mind. Despite the fact that he has a very limited vocabulary, there is no mistaking what he is saying. He makes sure you know his opinion or feelings about something.
  • Woodstock is very loving and affectionate. He loves hanging out curled up on the belly of his best bud. He is not worried about being called �gay� for expressing his physical affection towards his guy-pal Snoopy. He loves him some Beagle and he doesn�t care who knows. (And really, for the first time, I have to ask myself� Is Woodstock a homosexual? Are he and Snoopy more than �just friends�? I can�t believe I never thought of this before�)
  • Woodstock is not intimidated by anyone, even though he is just a tiny little bird. He�ll yell, when necessary, at people regardless of how high they tower over him.
  • Woodstock has a good control of his emotions. You don�t see him acting irrationally, he gets mad when justified, expresses joy appropriately, etc.
  • Woodstock, in general, is a very happy little bird. He is optimistic and enjoys his life.
  • Woodstock does not discriminate. He has many other little yellow bird friends, but is also a good friend to dogs and people. He is also, I believe, kind to bugs. Though I think worms need to be on the lookout.
  • Woodstock is supportive of his friends. Whether it�s Snoopy�s dream to be the Red Baron, or traipse through the desert to find his original home and family from the �Happy Daisy Puppy Farm�, Linus� need to catch The Great Pumpkin, or Charlie Brown�s need to believe that some day he will win the heart of the Little Red-Headed Girl, Woodstock will support your dreams and get your back when you need it. He�ll type for you when you wax poetic. When your dreams seem unobtainable, he�ll keep you motivated and when you get sad, he�ll give you a shoulder to cry on (or rather, sit on your shoulder while you cry). He�ll never tell you that your dream is ridiculous or unobtainable. And when you return home, only to find your puppy farm is now a parking garage, he�ll be there for you and remind you that �he� is your family now and you are not alone.
  • Woodstock has embraced the simple life. He is just as happy living in a tree as he is on top of Snoopy�s doghouse. Woodstock is unencumbered by worldly possessions and happily drinks out of Snoopy�s dog bowl without feeling �slighted� or believing that the world �owes� him more.
  • Woodstock does not pass judgment. He doesn�t care if you walk around in a cloud of dirt and dust, wear the same striped shirt every day, carry a blanket, wantonly throw yourself at an oblivious piano player, or continuously pay a nickel for bad advice.
  • Woodstock has aged well. Despite the fact that he is almost 40, he doesn�t look a day over 17.
  • Woodstock does not obsess over irrelevant details. He does not worry about a mid-life crisis, or wonder if he has sufficiently procreated, met a deadline, if he�s in the right career, where his next meal will come from. He just lives. Every day.
I�ll bet you never realized what a hero he is to us all. So come on, live it with me. WWWD.






Daddy's gone - 2009-08-10
- - 2009-06-13
Bald Spots - 2009-03-25
Empty birthday cakes with suicidal shovels - 2009-03-05
Emptiness - 2009-03-03

last - next