navigate
current
archives
profile
website
email
gbook
notes
host
design

The perfect weekend
2006-07-03, 6:16 a.m.

I couldn�t imagine much of anything that could have made the weekend more perfect.

Now, for those of you not living in Southern California, you won�t understand how laughable it is when I say that one of my favorite vacation spots is in Corona. For those living in SC, you know why that�s funny. For those not living in SC, it�s hard for me to explain without knowing the particular geography of your state, but Corona is sort of like the New Jersey of Southern California but a little more �south of the border�. On the show �The OC�, it�s referred to as the �909�, though their area code did recently change, and it�s definitely looked down upon. It�s actually a beautiful place to live, as long as you don�t have to venture out of the house too much, which thankfully, this weekend, I didn�t.

My sister and her family generally go camping on long weekends. Some times I go with them. But I�ve learned that I actually have an equally, if not more, enjoyable weekend housesitting. I like to refer to their house as either �Hotel WhiskeyMale� (Real last name changed to protect the innocent but is a combination of a form of alcohol and another name for a male) or as the �WhiskeyMale Resort�. I will post some pictures so I can show off why this is the best vacation spot on the earth, but for now I will just continue to postulate on my fabulous weekend.

The fabulousness of the weekend is partially due to their amazing home. They have done some incredible remodeling, adding a bathroom worthy of royalty. Their bed is the most comfortable bed on the planet, the bathroom has a spa tub, a shower that can hold a small family, and is large enough to shelter 3 small families in case of emergency. Their family room has been converted to a home theater with comfortable reclining couches, surround sound and a movie screen with projector in lieu of a television. But the crowning jewel is their backyard.

The way the houses were built, though they have neighbors, you actually can�t see any of them from the back yard, unless you go right to the fence line and look up on one side, and down on the other side and behind. From their backyard, what you DO see is rolling hills and the Cleveland National Forest. On a clear day you see all of the mountain ranges of Southern California and the several of the valleys where the �common folk� live. They have a black bottom swimming pool with a rock waterfall. Sitting in their back yard is like heaven.

Saturday was spent with two of my good gal friends. We spent most of the day by the pool. Being good gal friends, we were topless even. It was fabulous and freeing and very relaxing. They both spent the night. The great part of the weekend was that there were no rules. We could spend time together, or we could spend time apart, the only rule was that we do what we wanted. Sometimes this meant hanging out by or in the pool, other times, it meant we were doing various things inside. The agenda included: swimming, laying out, floating in the pool, enjoying a cocktail, enjoying a delicious meal or snack, watching tv, surfing the internet, napping, watching DVD�s. There was a plethora of relaxing activities to occupy our time.

My friend Peggy left about 11ish on Sunday and my friend Jana stayed until about 4:30. We spent nearly the entire afternoon out by, or in, the pool. When I show you pictures of this pool, you will dream of vacationing in Corona one day. Sunday afternoon, Brian came by and we did naughty things in the pool for about an hour, then moved inside and did naughty things in there. The naughty things in the pool, were especially fantastic, gravity being a non-issue and all of that. After our naughtiness, he took a nap and I prepared dinner. I woke him up and surprised him with a nice meal. We had one of the loveliest conversations we have ever had over dinner and during post-meal hanging out time. There is a lot more clarity in what we are doing now. Though I will not use the word boyfriend at this time, and he may choose to use the word girlfriend, we have reached an understanding.

We understand there is a strong pull between us and that we hope to always have each other in our lives. He�s got some major crap going on in his life and he�s hoping it will clear up soon. In the meantime, there are noticeable differences in how he treats me, things that were part of why we broke up. We both recognize that he may never be in a position to give me the relationship/life that I really want but that we will always remain friends. He understands that I am not actively searching to date people but that when people come in to my life, I do go out and see what comes of it. He said that he loves me and that as much as he loves our physical life together, he loves being my friend more and does not want to give that up. As for him, he�s not looking for anyone else, not accepting offers to date other people, doesn�t want anyone else in his life but knows that he may never be ready (or not be ready in time) to have a real relationship with me. He has also agreed to a few specific changes in certain situations in our relationship that have really been bothering me.

So, it was a fabulous weekend. For all the reasons listed above. It sucks that I was not able to have a 4 day weekend, but at least I get tomorrow off. I couldn�t sleep last night, woke up at 2:30 AM and have been awake ever since. I arrived at work at 5:45 AM, so hopefully, I will be able to leave about 2:30 in the afternoon. And tomorrow is a day off, so I shall be sleeping in at my favorite resort, spending more time by the pool, perhaps doing some crafty things (or not, who knows), maybe watching some DVD�s (or not, who knows) and just in general relaxing, spending time with just Janet and being very happy about that.






Daddy's gone - 2009-08-10
- - 2009-06-13
Bald Spots - 2009-03-25
Empty birthday cakes with suicidal shovels - 2009-03-05
Emptiness - 2009-03-03

last - next