navigate
current
archives
profile
website
email
gbook
notes
host
design

San Francisco
2006-05-10, 5:56 p.m.

So putting aside all the drama of the last few days, which still exists but I�m ignoring for now, here�s a recap of my trip to San Francisco.

We left Long Beach about 4 PM and got into SF about 10:15. We were all wiped so we went right to bed. Although I have to say, sleeping was a challenge. That hotel bed sucked! My back hurt the whole time I was there thanks to the suck ass bed. Ken had to wake up at 4 AM to go to his photography workshop. Jana and I slept in until about 8:30.

Jana used to live in the Bay Area so she has some favorite places she likes to go. She really wanted to go to her favorite coffee shop to have some coffee. Colin (Ken�s ex-roommate and sort of Jana�s too � Ken and Colin lived together, Jana moved in with Ken and then a couple of months later, Colin moved out) was going to meet us but that wasn�t until later in the day.

We went to the coffee shop, Crossroads and had some coffee:

Then we sat in the garden of the coffee shop:

This was the smart bird�when we were inside, the bird came in the open door and one of the coffee shop guys said, go outside little bird. When we laughed he said, �that�s the smart bird�:

Some pictures from outside the coffee shop:

After we left the coffee shop, we took Muni (San Francisco version of the subway. They have BART which connects cities in the Bay Area, then within SF, it�s Muni) over to Union Square for some shopping. We went to the Old Navy flagship store where they have 5 FLOORS of STUFF! They sort of debut stuff there and if it�s a hit they put it in the other stores so they had hella cute stuff. I bought a new outfit then accessorized with street vendors. I also bought a super-cute fossil watch at the fossil store. After that, we went back to the hotel to meet Colin.

Jana, Colin and I drove across the Golden Gate bridge over to Sausalito, which is sort of an artsy community. They have lots of art galleries, restaurants and the like. They were having a spring faire so we walked around that admiring the artwork, then we went down the street looking at the shops.

Here�s the main street:


And a view of SF from Sausalito:

On our way back to �the city� for dinner, we stopped at Vista Point to look at the Golden Gate bridge and enjoy the view and allow me an opportunity to shoot some pictures.

We got to walk under the bridge which was pretty awesome:

Here are some pictures of the bridge:

Colin and Jana on the bridge:

Me and Jana with SF in the background:

More pictures of the bridge and SF:

Then we went to North Beach (Italian neighborhood) for a delicious dinner. I shot some pictures of some SF landmarks from the top of our parking garage.

Coit Tower:

The Transamerica Building:

A typical SF street:

After dinner, we were going to go get drinks but we were all kind of wiped.

Sunday, we woke up about 8 and were going to meet Colin about 10ish down at a marketplace by the piers. What was especially exciting about this marketplace (for me anyway) was the presence of a certain cheese shop:

And I got some of my beloved cheese:

We bought cheese, olives, fresh bread and fresh strawberries then found a spot on the pier watching to ocean to partake of our feast:


After that, we met up with Ken and took a boat ride through the bay:

The wind was fierce:

Lots of sailboats out on the bay:

The birds were chasing the boat, it was so amazing:

A picture from under the bridge:

The bridge:

Under the bridge:

The bridge:

And finally, Alcatraz (we didn�t get to go because I goofed and bought tickets for the wrong day. Oh well, life goes on, next time):

That night, Jana met up with Ken and his photography crew for dinner and I went out to dinner with Colin.

Monday, Jana went to coffee with Ken and went to get me some more CHEESE while I went to visit Colin in his city for some coffee and chit chat.

It was a very lovely weekend up until the last 45 minutes. And that�s when something was said that I didn�t like very much, that hurt me quite a bit and triggered all this shit I am now feeling.

And that�s all I�m going to say about that incident for now.

But it was a nice trip and I won�t let the ending spoil the rest of it.






Daddy's gone - 2009-08-10
- - 2009-06-13
Bald Spots - 2009-03-25
Empty birthday cakes with suicidal shovels - 2009-03-05
Emptiness - 2009-03-03

last - next