navigate
current
archives
profile
website
email
gbook
notes
host
design

Swollen Throbbing Lips (if only this entry was as interesting as it sounds)
2006-04-10, 11:08 a.m.

My lips are swollen and throbbing. And not in the good I�ve-been-kissing-for-six-hours kind of swollen and throbbing. They are swollen and throbbing in the oh-fuck-I�ve-injured-my-lips kind of way. Because I�m a �tard sometimes and quite klutzy on occasion.

Saturday, I had some friends over for dinner and I made some rockin� food. So Saturday morning, I had made a big batch of spaghetti sauce and put it in the crock pot to cook and get all delicious. The sauce was going to be used for a casserole that night, then also for baked ziti the next day and some was going to be frozen. So I had put the sauce in the casserole and then put some aside for the ziti and now I was filling the container to freeze. I was at the bottom of the crock pot so I needed to pick it up and scrape the rest out. I needed to transfer the crockpot to the other counter, which required 2 hands, and also get the spoon over there, which required one hand. I only have 2 hands. So brilliantly, I thought, well, I can hold the handle of the spoon with my teeth while I walk across the kitchen.

It was a nice idea. I hadn�t realized that the spoon was resting against the crock part and it was HOT. And I didn�t realize it until my lips were already firmly holding it in place in my mouth. So my lips ended up burned and blistered, 2nd degree burns. Luckily, lips heal pretty fast but they are still very sore and swollen today. I just keep slathering them with lip balm and bag balm and other things in the hopes that they don�t hurt too much.

Oh well, there are worse things in life.

Yesterday, I went over to my friend Jana�s. She lives in Long Beach right on the coast. You can see the Queen Mary from her balcony. You can also see the Long Beach Grand Prix! So she has a party every year and it�s a lot of fun. Great conversation, great view of the race, great food. It�s a good way to spend a Sunday afternoon.

And thus the weekend turns.






Daddy's gone - 2009-08-10
- - 2009-06-13
Bald Spots - 2009-03-25
Empty birthday cakes with suicidal shovels - 2009-03-05
Emptiness - 2009-03-03

last - next