navigate
current
archives
profile
website
email
gbook
notes
host
design

glasses
2005-09-09, 10:51 a.m.

I have these glasses and when I put them on, they make everything so clear. The edges of the world are suddenly sharp, completely in focus. I can see such detail; the lines on a blade of grass, the fine hairs on a baby�s neck, even the atoms moving about in the air. There is a clarity that is crisp and clean. But sometimes, I grow weary of the harsh edges of reality. And then I take the glasses off. I revel in the softness of the world slightly out of focus. I enjoy the new softness of the world, but I soon find that when I think I�m reaching for a pear, I�m actually reaching for a cactus and come away with a spire in my hand.

So I got this survey from Clarity . You have to answer all of the questions using lyrics from one band or musical artist. I chose Green Day. Actually, I took it one step further and took all my answers from the American Idiot album.

Are you male or female: She�s a rebel.
Describe yourself: Oh therapy, can you please feel the void?
How do some people feel about you: She�s an extraordinary girl in an ordinary world and she can�t seem to get away.
How do you feel about yourself: I walk a lonely road, the only road that I have ever known. Don�t know where it goes but it�s home to me and I walk alone.
Describe your current significant other: My shallow heart�s the only thing that�s beating.
Describe where you want to be: Starry nights, city lights coming down over me. Skyscapers and stargazers in my head.
Describe what you want to be: Don�t want to be an american idiot.
Describe how you live: I beg to dream and differ from the hollow lies.
Describe how you love: Give me a long kiss goodnight and everything will be alright.
Share a few words of wisdom: Where will all the martyrs go when the virus cures itself?

So then, I decided to answer it using lines from a movie. I chose Forrest Gump.

Are you male or female: She was like an angel.
Describe yourself: I can run like the wind blows.
How do some people feel about you: Sometimes we all do things that, well, just don�t make sense.
How do you feel about yourself: Everybody gets a second chance.
Describe your current significant other:.There�s an awful lot you can tell about a person by their shoes.
Describe where you want to be: Sometimes it would stop raining
long enough for the stars to come out. And then it was nice.
It was like just before the sun goes to bed down on the
bayou. There was over a million sparkles on the water. Like
that mountain lake. It was so clear, Jenny. It looked like
there were two skies, one on top of the other. And then in
the desert, when the sun comes up... I couldn't tell where
heaven stopped and the earth began. It was so beautiful.
Describe what you want to be: My momma always said you have to put your past behind you before you can move on.
Describe how you live: I just felt like running.
Describe how you love: I�ll always be your girl
Share a few words of wisdom: Sometimes, there just aren�t enough rocks.

I�ve noticed, that no matter my mood, if someone asks me how I am doing, my answer is always fine. I can have storms raging inside of me, still I say fine. It�s a lie most of the time. I think it�s just that we get so used to that question being used as part of a greeting �Hi how are you� and so the question just becomes meaningless. I�m so used to hearing this question, and knowing that the questioner is really not asking how I am, that it has become habit to say fine, even when it is a friend who is generally asking the question. But sometimes, I say fine because at that moment, I am fine. My mood is so wacky, one minute I�m devastated and suicidal and the next minute, I�m joyful, hopeful and all of that. It�s part of the bi-polar. Sometimes I �rapid cycle� which means that I can go from devastating lows to god-like highs in minutes. My mood can change several times an hour. It all just depends where on the fluctuation that you catch me. So, I need to get back to work, I�ve wasted quite a bit of time searching for lyrics and movie lines. Of course, it�s Friday so a perfect day to waste a little time.






Daddy's gone - 2009-08-10
- - 2009-06-13
Bald Spots - 2009-03-25
Empty birthday cakes with suicidal shovels - 2009-03-05
Emptiness - 2009-03-03

last - next