navigate
current
archives
profile
website
email
gbook
notes
host
design

Clearance Rack
2005-06-28, 2:38 p.m.

When we go shopping, my friend Jana always goes to the clearance rack first. I hate the clearance rack. It has this sense of being picked over, the forgotten, the lost, the things no one else wanted. Occasionally, you can find something great in there. But most of the time, it�s 30 replicas of the same sad style that no one else wanted. I see that, and I know that I don�t want it either.

Sometimes, this is what it feels like to be single and 37. Sometimes, I feel like an item on the clearance rack that no one wanted. And I know, that those few people who come to look at the clearance rack, are here at the clearance rack because they�re desperate. They can�t afford the regular racks and they�re just looking for something to wear, doesn�t need to be stylish. Doesn�t need to be fashionable, durable or anything like that. Just needs to be available. There are a few people, like Jana, who go to the clearance rack expecting to find something amazing that other people just didn�t bother to look for. But they are rare.

And I don�t want my life to come down to that� to feeling like an object picked over and left behind by others. I want to look in the mirror and be excited about my life. I want to be the item that is so great, so amazing, so glittery and fabulous that it doesn�t even need to be on sale to fly off the rack. I want to be Gucci or Versace. I want to be Seven Jeans. I want to be Tiffany�s. I want to be Prada.

In other news, I found my missing girl scout cookies. It was the strangest thing. I knew I had 3 boxes of girl scout cookies left (1 of thin mints and 2 of samoas) but I couldn�t find them. I knew I didn�t eat them, but they JUST WEREN�T HERE. Today I was in the extra freezer in the garage and there they were, sitting on the bottom shelf. Where, of course, I now remember putting them so that they wouldn�t go stale and so that I wouldn�t scarf them all down in a self-pitying eating binge. I left them in the freezer, they seem safe and happy there.






Daddy's gone - 2009-08-10
- - 2009-06-13
Bald Spots - 2009-03-25
Empty birthday cakes with suicidal shovels - 2009-03-05
Emptiness - 2009-03-03

last - next