navigate
current
archives
profile
website
email
gbook
notes
host
design

the squirrel and the hot dog
2004-11-30, 10:44 a.m.

Okay, this morning I remembered one of my funny vacation stories that I forgot to mention yesterday. Danny and I were walking down by the National Mall. We hadn't eaten all day and it's about 4 PM now. So I bought a hot dog. While I was getting my hot dog all decked out in ketchup, Danny was feeding part of my bun to the squirrels. Now this wasn't your tiny little hot dog, this was a JUMBO beef frank. So, I wanted to take a picture of Danny feeding the squirrel and I set the hot dog down to get out my camera. While I was taking a picture, another squirrel came up, grabbed my giant hot dog by then end, yanked it off the table and ran away with it. The whole dang jumbo beef frank. I just laughed, it was so funny to watch. Lucky squirrel!
I don't feel quite as moody as I did before I left but there's definitely still some mood swinging going on here. Before I left, I kept thinking, I just want to go on this vacation, have my fun and then I hope the plane crashes on the way home. As we were on one of our numerous plane rides to get home, the weather wasn't so great and so the flight was bumpy. At one point, I was looking at a mountain range and it felt like we were just going to drop out of the sky. I remember thinking, No, not yet, I'm not ready yet. Obviously, we survived. So then Sunday, after getting home, I just kept thinking, I wish we had crashed. It's so strange how quickly my mood can change. I hate it.
Other news, it was so cool to fit into an airline seat! And be comfortable. Wow. And there's no way I could have done all that walking when I weighed 366 pounds. This trip just would not have been possible before losing all that weight.
So that makes me think, wow, there's so much ahead of me, I have the chance to live such a different life, why would I want it all to end now, when the best parts are just beginning... I just wish my brain would get that.
B lost his job. He's not in the best of moods. It's not really the money, because he has his military pension, it's just the hit to his self-esteem. He's hurting. I just let him know I'm here. Hopefully, his mood is better today. But he'll land on his feet, he's a strong SpaceCowboy.






Daddy's gone - 2009-08-10
- - 2009-06-13
Bald Spots - 2009-03-25
Empty birthday cakes with suicidal shovels - 2009-03-05
Emptiness - 2009-03-03

last - next