navigate
current
archives
profile
website
email
gbook
notes
host
design

Jesse's Girl
2004-11-19, 7:15 a.m.

My preferred auditory stimulation during my drive to work is music. I�m not much for talk in the morning. I don�t even let people say good morning to me. If I can hear some good songs during my morning commute, it does wonders for my mood for the day. So, this morning on my drive, I heard a couple songs I like on the various stations I have programmed in�couple of good country songs, pop songs, alternative, etc. Then the station I was on started some discussion and it was time to move on. I was so excited when the next station was playing �Jesse�s Girl�. That pretty much made my whole dang day! And what really put a smile on my face is that it was playing on the independent station (the only one left that�s NOT owned by Clear Ch@nnel) that usually plays punk and alternative�. Oh, man, that just made me smile so big. I�m one of THE BIGGEST Rick Springfield fans EVER! I own almost all of his albums. First I had the tapes, then the records and now the CDs. So really, I love him so much I bought him 3 times. He�s the bomb, nobody dis my Rick. And even though he�s in his 50�s (??) now, I still think he�s HOT!
So, the discussion that had me changing channels was about how PETA wants people to stop eating fish because fish have feelings and feel pain. Well, PETA can bite my ass! Okay, I�m all for treating animals humanely. I love me some animals, but I also believe wholeheartedly in the food chain. And let�s think about this, so if we aren�t supposed to eat certain animals because they feel pain, then we would have to keep other animals from eating them too, because I�m sure it hurts just as much to have a bear savagely rip it�s giant teeth and claws into them as it does when a human being catches it in a net and cuts its head off killing it instantly. So then, if the bear can�t eat other animals (or wolf or whatever predator we are referring to) then we are now hurting the bear as it wanders around hungry. Oops. I thought we were trying to prevent pain. Okay, pain is just a part of life. People have to experience pain and die sometimes. So do fish (and other animals). It�s all just a part of the circle of life. [insert Lion King soundtrack here]
Now for those who choose not to eat meat for whatever your reasons, that�s fine. I choose to eat meat. And I don�t see anything morally wrong with it. That�s just my opinion and you are welcome to yours. If you choose not to eat meat, whatever your reasons, I respect that. But I just think that as far as this issue goes, we all have the right to our own opinion and choices. I don't think I could ever morally have an abortion, but I would wholeheartedly support a friend who needed one (and I have). I am a pro-choice person who believes abortion is wrong. How can those go together? They go together because I believe that I can't make life choices for anyone else. And I don't want anyone else making them for me. That's all I'm trying to say here.
Okay, I�m done now.
So today is my last day of work before my vacation. In exactly 2 days, I�ll be sitting at the airport waiting to get on my plane and fly to DC and I couldn�t be happier about that. My brain is driving me crazy and I just need a break. Luckily, I�m going with a very good friend, someone who knows my mind intimately, someone who knows every dirty little secret that I have, someone who is over 6 feet tall, 250 pounds and is training for a boxing match. Someone who will keep me safe from any harm (or myself if need be). I�ll try to update at least once more before I go, but then I probably won�t for a week. Just know that I am in DC having a blast.






Daddy's gone - 2009-08-10
- - 2009-06-13
Bald Spots - 2009-03-25
Empty birthday cakes with suicidal shovels - 2009-03-05
Emptiness - 2009-03-03

last - next