navigate
current
archives
profile
website
email
gbook
notes
host
design

first day at junior high
2004-09-02, 8:41 p.m.

You know how when you go from elementary school to junior high, it's a big change, but kind of exciting too? You have new buildings, new rules. A number of schools join together so some of your friends are with you but others aren't and then you have new friends too. And you have different desks and different people to sit by. You don't know where the lunch room is, or the bathrooms. Everything is new. Both exciting and overwhelming.

That is how this week has been. While I was out on my leave of absence for my hernia repair, my department moved. So, I have a new desk, new people to sit by, I don't know where the bathrooms are, or the lunch room or where any of my friends sit. It's all very strange. Also, in the old building, my desk was kind of tucked away and now it's right on the main corridor. Lots of traffic.

I had been in the same desk for 5 years! I think that's a record at that company. I think I was the only one in our department who had the same desk for 5 years. I should have gotten a medal or trophy for that. No trophy though.

I feel like I've kind of disappeared this past week. I have had almost no energy, no desire to communicate or connect with the outside world. All I've wanted it to curl up in bed and sleep, or just be alone with my brain. The phone goes unanswered, the e-mail accumulates. The hair is unwashed. It's been a mess. Going back to work has been helpful in some regards, it gets me out of the house, forces me to be around people, to take a shower, to be distracted for 8ish hours a day. But.... I think I developed the flu my second day back. How fun is that? Yesterday, my whole body was achy but specifically my lower back and my head. In addition to that I had chills and some other fun problems. So... after two days back at work, I called in sick. Actually, I couldn't call in sick because everyone in our department has new phone numbers and I don't remember what they are so I e-mailed in sick. Tomorrow I have off and Monday is a holiday, so I don't go back to work until Tuesday. It's almost like I didn't go back at all.

This weekend, I'm heading out to Palm Springs with some of the gals for a weekend away. It will be good to relax and be the hell out of dodge for a few days. I know my problems will all still exist when I return, but at least I don't have to stare them in the face for a few days.






Daddy's gone - 2009-08-10
- - 2009-06-13
Bald Spots - 2009-03-25
Empty birthday cakes with suicidal shovels - 2009-03-05
Emptiness - 2009-03-03

last - next