navigate
current
archives
profile
website
email
gbook
notes
host
design

Bras anyone?
2004-07-05, 7:44 p.m.

I�m so used to shopping at Lane Bryant and The Avenue. I really have had so little experience shopping in �real� stores. Sometimes, it�s just overwhelming for me. I was in Kohl�s the other day looking around. I decided to look at bras and underwear. A lot of my underwear is just a little too big and I really only have 2 bras that fit, both plain old white bras. So I thought some cute colored bras would be good. And now that my weight loss has slowed down, I don�t mind investing a little extra money in some pretty bra and undie sets (folks, I really can�t say the word panty. Or panties. Or underpants. They, for some reason, sound so dirty to me. I picture Chester the Molester sitting in his squalid apartment looking at Mervyn�s ads and saying �Oh the panties!� while masturbating).

Normally, when I buy bras and underwear, I�m at Lame Giant or The Boulevard. They, of course, only carry their own brand. They may have assorted styles (like 3 or 4) and patterns (maybe 20) but the selection is fairly limited. The undergarment selection was not so grand (undergarment -- a word which makes me think of old ladies OR ladies from the 40�s and I just picture all these women putting on their undergarments and heading off to the factory while dreaming about Bruce or Nate who are off fighting in either Europe off the coast of Malta, or awash in the Pacific on some tiny, humid, bug-filled island). I had only a few styles (thongs or string bikinis) that I would consider cute enough to grace my tushie, so my options were even more limited. It made shopping for bras and undies a little easier, if sometimes disheartening.

So, there I was in Kohl�s. Lost in a sea of bras. I mean, there were like 40 different manufacturers. A gazillion styles, colors, patterns, sizes. Lace. Cotton. Underwire. Sports. I couldn�t find my way. A small child had to wade into the sea of bras and rescue me. And underwear � forget it. That wasn�t even gonna happen. So, no new bras and underwear for me. I do better at Target where the selection isn�t so overwhelming. I think I�m gonna have to head to Nordie�s and get some wonderfully fabulous and friendly lingerie clerk to help me. I can just tell her what I want and she�ll go fight the rows of bras.






Daddy's gone - 2009-08-10
- - 2009-06-13
Bald Spots - 2009-03-25
Empty birthday cakes with suicidal shovels - 2009-03-05
Emptiness - 2009-03-03

last - next