navigate
current
archives
profile
website
email
gbook
notes
host
design

dreams to make happen
2004-05-03, 2:27 p.m.

My company is going to be a major sponsor of the new Orange County Marathon that will take place in December of this year. Some big marathon muckety-muck is going to run a training program to train for the marathon. It�s going to be free to all employees. So�.. I thought a lot about this over the weekend. There is a 5K, a half-marathon and a marathon. I decided that if I do the training program, between now and December, I have plenty of time to train to do the half-marathon. And then next year, I can do the whole marathon.

So, my friends, I now have a goal to run a marathon next year and a half-marathon this year. That is so cool.

I�ve been making a list of 100 things to do before I die. I put running a marathon on the list. I�m only up to about 26 things, so help me out people. I�ve got a lot of travel related things on the list: visit all continents except Antarctica. Swim in all the oceans of the world (not seas, just official oceans), see the Great Wall of China, Go to Rome, Go to Moscow. Then I�ve got some achievement related items: publish my novel or children�s book, weigh less than 200 pounds, hike Half-Dome, run a marathon. There must be more things I want to do with my life. More than 26 things. Because that seems kind of pathetic to me. Ideas? Anyone? Buehler?

My weekend was pretty boring but very relaxing. Friday, I saw Envy with JoeBoxer. It had some really funny moments, but other moments that were just dragging. Saturday, I just ran errands and went out to lunch with my sister and brother-in-law. Sunday, I went back over to my sister�s and laid out by their pool. I went in the water a few times, but mostly just laid in the sun. I seriously could have taken a nap. I had a long conversation with TheSpaceCowboy on Saturday night via the internet. It was strange, I don�t know what to make of it and I think I felt worse at the end of the conversation than the beginning. I can�t explain it. I mean, there were parts of the conversation that went really well. And then other parts� not so much. Then when he had to go at the end, I just felt like he was tired of talking and not like he really HAD to go. But I think that�s just me being sensitive because there really wasn�t a reason to think that. Anyway, it left me feeling weird and provided much to occupy my mind during my time in the sun.

I haven�t really been focusing much on the whole weight loss thing and I haven�t weighed in since March. I need to go weigh in because I don�t want to start gaining weight and not even see it happening. But I�ve been reluctant. Maybe I�ll go today. I need to know what�s going on. If I�ve gained weight, I need to see that and experience the shock of it so I can change my behavior. I have been eating better this last week, I just need to stay on track. I have had very little candy in the last few days so that is a good thing. I think the marathon training will really help too.

I�ve decided to take a trip to the bay area next week to visit some friends. I just need to get out of town and that�s a cheap way to do it. Just a 6 hour drive and free accommodations. And a much needed break from this life o� mine. I�m supposed to get a bonus for the training project and if I get that then I think I�ll take a more substantial vacation. I was thinking NYC and DC. I�ve been really wanting to go there for a while. We�ll see. Of course, the heat of summer is not the best time to be travelling but oh well.

I had my doctor�s appointment and there doesn�t seem to be anything wrong with my bones. X-rays were okay, blood test was okay, so it�s probably just some sort of anomaly. There were some problems with my liver though, so I�m undergoing more tests for that. The fun never ends.

Here�s my list of fun things to make happen this summer:

Take 2 extended weekend trips

Go to Mexico for the day

Go to Magic Mountain at least 2 more times

Go to Catalina

Go to a water park

If I do all that, I can call this a life again.






Daddy's gone - 2009-08-10
- - 2009-06-13
Bald Spots - 2009-03-25
Empty birthday cakes with suicidal shovels - 2009-03-05
Emptiness - 2009-03-03

last - next