navigate
current
archives
profile
website
email
gbook
notes
host
design

Addiction
2004-04-02, 1:11 p.m.

I have become addicted to candy. Serious need-to-check-into-rehab addiction. I�m eating so much of it I�m not even tasting it. I�m not even enjoying it. I�m not eating it for any reasonable reason. I�m just eating it because it�s there, and I want it and I have a compulsion to eat it. It�s bad. It�s really bad. And if I don�t stop, I will eventually gain back every pound that I have lost. I will ruin all that I have accomplished and I will be really really mad at myself. So I need to do something about it now. I need to do something about it immediately, before it�s too late.

I have decided not to eat any candy. None. And today, I haven�t. Not one piece. There is a candy bowl right outside my desk. I�ve been tempted. But I haven�t given in. I will allow myself to eat candy on Sunday, because it�s my birthday. And that�s it. Not today. Not tomorrow. Not Monday, or next week. It has to stop. I have the power, I can do this. I am bigger than the candy. It is exactly like an addiction, I�m craving it, it�s calling to me. But I won�t give in. I will be strong. I have a box of clothes that don�t fit me yet and I intend to wear them.

I look in the mirror and I can finally see my body reshaping, I can finally see the smaller Janet. I get excited because I am living a life I never though possible. I see a body I never imagined I could see. I fit in clothes that look so tiny to me. I still can�t believe it and it�s still like a dream to me. But it�s real. And it�s wonderful. Every time I walk up a flight of stairs with ease, every time I find myself sprinting with no effort, every time I see myself in the mirror or put on clothes and they fit, I am amazed and grateful. But the truth is, I�m still an addict. I still have issues. I still eat for the wrong reasons and I still eat the wrong things for the wrong reasons. And this is a battle I will ALWAYS fight.

Prior to today, I had given up, I had surrendered, I had stopped fighting. But today, I take up my sword. Evil sugar � you will not win!






Daddy's gone - 2009-08-10
- - 2009-06-13
Bald Spots - 2009-03-25
Empty birthday cakes with suicidal shovels - 2009-03-05
Emptiness - 2009-03-03

last - next