navigate
current
archives
profile
website
email
gbook
notes
host
design

the demon seed automotive from hell
2004-02-11, 3:15 p.m.

So, yesterday. What a great day. F�ing bites man. Here�s my story:

Okay, I worked 12 hours yesterday. I was determined NOT to take work home with me. So I stayed until I could leave without taking anything home. A blessed feeling. I walk to my car with glee, practically flying I�m so high at the thought of going home and relaxing guilt free. I get in my car and as I�m putting my key in the ignition, my hand is simultaneously turning on the lights. Only to discover that the lights are already on. But hmmm� it�s dark. I didn�t see any lights. Oh shit. Dead battery.

Well, I have the epitome of father�s who feel that their lovely young daughters (well, not so young anymore) should not drive around unprepared, so I do have a set of jumper cables. Luckily, there was a fine young lass who was willing to help me jump start my car (Dude, I got jumped!). It was so dead we had to let it charge about 10 minutes before it would start. So crisis averted, so I thought, I began to drive home.

Now, flash back to yesterday morning on my drive to work. I froze my ass off the whole drive because suddenly, my heater wasn�t working. So strange. So, I begin to drive home, my car is running kind of funny, idling weird, but I don�t think too much of it. A few weeks back, I had a little idling problem and my car would stall all the time. My brother in law examined it and determined that I had a deteriorating vacuum hose of some kind. He was able to do some slip shod repair that would get me through a few weeks until I could go get a new hose. I figured maybe the hose repair job was in need of some� well.. repair. Not a big deal, I think. Then I notice that there�s smoke coming out of my tail pipe. Hmmm, that�s not good. I continue driving for another mile or so and I can�t tell if the smoke is getting better or worse. I then notice that my temperature gauge is on H. Well, normally, if your temp goes up you turn on the heater. But having no heater, and all the smoke, I decided it would be wise to pull the F*CK over.

So, I pulled into a parking lot of a grocery store. I had only gone about 2 miles. I called my parents and said �help� and they agreed to come rescue my sorry ass. Meanwhile they asked what I was going to do to get to work. I remembered that my uncle has a spare car right now, so I called him and asked him if I could borrow it for a few days. Meanwhile, my parents had called my brother in a law and based on symptoms he thinks I blew a head gasket. My parents figured that we might as well tow it tonight but then my brother in law said that he had a car trailer and he could do the towing if we could wait until tomorrow (today), which we could.

I decided to drive my smoking car back to work where I could safely leave it overnight. Then I went back up to my office and decided to get a little work done while I was waiting for my parents to arrive. They got there about 9ish. We drove over to my uncles, visited for a bit, then I got in his van and drove home. I got home about 10:30. So much for my relaxing evening.

On the sugar front, I did eat 2 cookies and 3 dove chocolate hearts. Better than some days but pretty pathetic for a girl who is supposed to be giving up on the gratuitous sugar-fest. But considering my stress level when I left work yesterday, I suppose I should be glad I didn�t take a bath in chocolate syrup. Thank god for close knit loving families who are always there to pull you out of a jam and rescue your sorry ass off the side of the road.






Daddy's gone - 2009-08-10
- - 2009-06-13
Bald Spots - 2009-03-25
Empty birthday cakes with suicidal shovels - 2009-03-05
Emptiness - 2009-03-03

last - next