navigate
current
archives
profile
website
email
gbook
notes
host
design

Yesterday = Suckfest
2004-01-26, 8:10 a.m.

Yesterday sucked. Big Time. Imagine the worst thing that you could think of. Then imagine that it happened. Then realize that I�m prone to over-exaggeration, and then you have my day. So really, it wasn�t the worst thing that could happen, not the worst day of my life. But it did suck and caused much frustration.

I took work home with me and worked on it all day, from 10 AM to 11 PM (well, with frequent breaks to �Rip� CD�s, listen to music, read diaries and chat online). Somewhere in the middle of the day, I got a phone call that a good friend of mine has been diagnosed with liver cancer which they believe has spread to her lungs. Her prognosis is not good. I can�t imagine the world without her in it. So that was upsetting. Around 10:30, the SpaceCowboy came on line. I haven�t talked to him in a week, so I was very happy to see him. Before we could even get started, my computer crashed. I couldn�t restart it. I tried for about an hour before giving up. So, not only did I not get to talk to the SpaceCowboy, I also didn�t finish burning my hard work on a CD so I could bring it to work with me today. Work�where I�m supposed to turn it into my boss in about 4 minutes. Work�where now it looks like I didn�t do anything yesterday. Sucks.

So, after that, I was up until 3 AM. At first I was upset that I didn�t get to talk to SpaceCowboy, but then my fears moved on to �What am I going to do with my computer?� My brother-in-law is very computer savvy so I figured that I could get him to help me, but I was still worried about what would happen if he can�t fix it. My life is on that computer. And there�s no way I want to spend another 13 hours trying to rewrite that document. So, asleep about 3 AM, then up at 5 AM so I could go over to my parents this morning before work and use their computer to finish sending some e-mails I didn�t finish last night. Just in case I can�t resurrect the dead computer, I needed to get that done. 2 hours of sleep. Happy happy me.

I did call my brother in law this morning and he�s pretty sure he can fix it. So tonight after work, I�m heading over there to lay alms to the god of hard drives.

Yesterday, while working and other stuff, I was listening to music. I decided to communicate with SpaceCowboy strictly using song lyrics for the day. Anytime I heard a song lyric that reminded me of him, I e-mailed it to him. I�m sure he appreciated the onslaught. Here�s what he got:

"I need your arms around me, I need to feel your touch. I need your understanding, I need your love.. so much" Cake, Never There

"I love the way you look at me, I love the way you smack my ass. I love the dirty things you do, when I have control of you" Puddle Of Mudd, Control

"boy meets girl, and love, love is on it's way" Haircut 100, Favorite Shirts

"In your house, I long to be. Room by room, patiently. I wait for you there, like a stone. I wait for you there, alone." Audioslave, Like A Stone

"It's been a while since I've seen the way the candles light your face. It's been a while, but I can still remember just the way you taste" Stain'd, It's Been A While

"Not to put too fine a point on it, say I'm the only bee in your bonnet. Make a little birdhouse in your soul." They Might Be Giants, Birdhouse In Your Soul

Fun Stuff. All for now. Look for more religious education tomorrow. If, that is, my computer returns to the land of the living.






Daddy's gone - 2009-08-10
- - 2009-06-13
Bald Spots - 2009-03-25
Empty birthday cakes with suicidal shovels - 2009-03-05
Emptiness - 2009-03-03

last - next