navigate
current
archives
profile
website
email
gbook
notes
host
design

Christmas memories
2003-12-26, 11:21 a.m.

So here�s the Christmas update. My brother in law is a CHP officer (California Highway Patrol) and because of the Orange Terror Alert, and his specialized position within the CHP, he had to work on Christmas day. But we�re a flexible family and so we got together at 8 AM. Which meant I had to be awake at 6:30. I love to sleep in, so this was a sacrifice for me. Our family tradition is to get together at my sister�s on Christmas morning, usually after 9, where we have breakfast and open presents. So this year, it was the same, just earlier and kind of rushed, as he had to be out the door by 9:30. Well, there was no shortage of gifts.. here�s what the tree looked like after my parents and I brought over all of our presents: All this for 6 people. Wow. Here�s a picture of my sister�s family, note the attractive uniform on my brother in law: I do love a man in uniform (which partially explains my attraction to Brian). Now here�s a picture of me and my nephew Anthony: I�m feeling like I look rather skinny in this picture. I like it! And for the last picture of today�s entry, here�s a picture of my cat with all of her new Xmas toys: Santa was very good to everyone in my family. I got so much stuff, most of it is still sitting in my car. I was too lazy yesterday to bring it all inside. I�m very excited about my 4 new and very fluffy pillows. I am so crazy, I have 3 body pillows and 8 regular pillows on my bed. But it is so comfy that way, especially if you are trying to lay around in bed reading a book. It all started about 8 years ago when I was having a very bad lupus flare up. I bought more pillows to help support my joints when I slept. It was the only way I could get comfortable. I had pillows tucked under my knees, my hips, my shoulders, just about everywhere. One night, my hips were hurting so bad, the only way I could sleep was to pile all my pillows up and lay over them, with my butt up in the air. I slept like that for several nights. In time, I just became accustomed to having a million pillows on my bed. I suppose if Brian were home, I�d be willing to kick out a few pillows for him, but alas, right now I sleep alone. I think this Christmas season has been especially exciting for me because I feel like it has been an incredible year and I am so much happier this Christmas than last year. Last year, I couldn�t imagine what the future looked like for me. I wanted a different life and I wasn�t sure what changes the surgery would bring. Now, I am so much happier and I just feel like a different person. If I get this new job, it will just be the icing on the cake. I never expected a love like I have with Brian, and that is a gift to me too. I had a few shitty years, ever since Fall of 1999, things just haven�t been going my way. I was long overdue on some good times. So I�m just going to enjoy it and be thankful. I didn�t get to speak with Brian yesterday but he did send me an e-mail in the middle of the night. He�s not doing so well right now. Part of it is that he�s just tired of his life but he can�t get out. And I know being away at the holidays is very hard. But also, he had a friend die yesterday. I am sure that you never get used to that, no matter how much death you encounter. And it scares me because I know that he could be next and there�s nothing I can do about it. I just don�t know what I�d do. So that news put a damper on my Christmas cheer. Now I hurt with Brian, because I know he�s really hurting right now, and I�m fearful for his life. But when we got together, I knew this was part of the package, and I have had to find a way to live each day and forget about the fear that could potentially paralyze me. There�s no other way, life must go on. I hope every one had an excellent Christmas.






Daddy's gone - 2009-08-10
- - 2009-06-13
Bald Spots - 2009-03-25
Empty birthday cakes with suicidal shovels - 2009-03-05
Emptiness - 2009-03-03

last - next