navigate
current
archives
profile
website
email
gbook
notes
host
design

A visit to the trailer park
2003-12-09, 8:55 a.m.

My weekend started out well enough, and then it descended into something straight out of the trailer park.

Friday was a quiet night, I worked on my Christmas cards, watched TV, watched some movies and went to bed early. Saturday morning my friend Heidi came over and we worked on Christmas cards together. After that, I joined my parents and an old family friend for lunch, ran some errands and came home.

At 5:30, my roommates, K & J, left for K�s work Christmas party. They were both really looking forward to the evening. I continued working on my cards and went on line for a bit and watched some TV. At about 8:15, I heard some commotion outside and I couldn�t really tell if it was drunken hysterical laughter, or someone in trouble screaming. I recognized the voice as that of my roommate K. I went to the door to see what was going on, and just then, K came running in the house screaming �Lock the door, J�s beating me up, lock the door, don�t let him in� and ran into her room. Well, I locked the door and followed her. It was apparent that she was drunk, I could smell it as she passed through the room. And the idea the J would beat her up was just unbelievable. But she did have a bloody nose, her hair was disheveled, her skirt was missing and her blouse was ripped so I wasn�t really sure what to believe. I was trying to calm her down to get the story from her but she was too hysterical to even make sense. I tried to locate her phone so I could call her mom before calling the police but she had no idea where it was. At that moment, J came home. He came in the room, said that K was drunk and tried to get out of the car on the freeway while the car was moving. He said that he was going to call her mom right now. So I gave them some space, went to my room but left the door open and turned the tv off so I would hear the slightest sound if anything happened. J was very calm and also sober, so I was pretty sure that K was just drunk and confused, but if J did anything, I would hear it and call the police right away.

Well, J went looking for the phone and meantime, K locked the bedroom door. J ended up going downstairs to talk to the neighbors because they had heard what was going on and were concerned. (Ya think?) I went outside to talk to J, because I wanted to know what happened to K�s skirt and why she had a bloody nose. I could hear K on the phone calling her mom. She was yelling into the phone to call the police, that J was beating her up. At this moment, J was no where near her. J began to explain that she got drunk at the party so they left early and on the way home, K began throwing up and then got hysterical and tried to get out of the car. He grabbed her hair, because it was the only thing he could reach as she was trying to get out of a moving car. He pulled her back into the car by her hair. She pulled her own skirt off when they got home because it had vomit all over it. She also tried to rip her shirt off.

So at that moment, the cops showed up. They put J in handcuffs. As they were doing this, K comes outside on the porch wearing only her underwear. I ran up the stairs to get her back inside to put some clothes on. The cops came upstairs to interview her, and me as well. After about 30 minutes, they told me that they had to arrest K as well, and off they both went to jail.

Her mom was on her way and called to let me know. So I let her know that they were both taken to jail. K had access to a phone (I guess they have one in the holding cells) but could only make local calls. Her mom�s number was not local. So K called me all night long to see what was going on. Then I would call her mom and get the information, then wait for K to call again so I could relay the info. This continued until 3 AM when I let her know that the bail had been posted and it was just a matter of waiting for the paperwork to process. They both came home Sunday morning and K admitted she has no idea what happened and only remembers J grabbing her hair. She said the bloody nose was just from the weather and that she had had several of them earlier in the day. So, as far as we all can piece together, here�s what happened. K began drinking as soon as they got to the party. She had an empty stomach so it affected her very quickly. After about an hour, J mentioned to her that she was getting drunk and that they should leave before she did anything to embarrass herself in front of her co-workers. K agreed and felt that was the right thing to do. Neither of them was mad at this point. As they were driving home, K fell asleep. She woke up a few minutes later throwing up. Now when K wakes up, she is very disoriented. My guess is that she was having a strange dream because of the alcohol. Being drunk and disoriented, she was confused and decided that J was mad at her. At this point, it made sense to her to yell at him and get out of the car. In a panic to keep his wife in the car, he grabbed the only thing he could get his hands on�her hair. This confused her even more and she decided that J was beating her up. So now they are both being charged with a felony and have to go to court in January. Who knows what�s going to happen next.

So, that was my trailer park weekend. I treated myself to some shopping therapy on Sunday. Thanks for visiting.






Daddy's gone - 2009-08-10
- - 2009-06-13
Bald Spots - 2009-03-25
Empty birthday cakes with suicidal shovels - 2009-03-05
Emptiness - 2009-03-03

last - next