navigate
current
archives
profile
website
email
gbook
notes
host
design

A little philosophical to start with
2003-10-04, 2:08 p.m.

I just finished watching �We Were Soldiers�. It was very upsetting and really makes me think about the events that are going on in the world today, about the lives of our fellow countrymen who are fighting in Iraq and Afghanistan and how crazy this all is. It�s been 2 years since our supposed victory over the Taliban, but we aren�t any closer to peace than we were before. I don�t know what�s right and wrong anymore. There�s no doubt in my mind that the Taliban were oppressive and needed to be taken out, and Al Queda certainly needed to be stopped. I just wish things had a nice tidy resolution. Something that was said in the movie really struck home with me. One of the soldiers said �I�m happy to die for my country� right before he died. That really made me think. Are these soldiers dying for our country? I mean, except for the terrorist acts, it�s not as if we were being invaded. We are really doing this for other countries. For the people of Iraq and Afghanistan. And their lives are still chaos.

I was supposed to clean out the garage today. Well, it�s not as if anyone is making me do it, it just needs to be done and today is the day I picked. But when I woke up this morning, I just didn�t feel like it. I just wanted to have a lazy day. So I�m still in my pajamas and it�s close to 2. I did do the dishes though, so that�s good. And I did a little pampering, gave myself a pedicure. I love to go get pedicures, I can�t believe I was in my 30�s before I had my first one! But right now, with Christmas coming, my car registration and insurance due, and a divorce to pay for, I think I�d better just save money where I can. And now that I actually CAN give myself a pedicure, I�d better just do it! And enjoy the fact that I can do it now.

Last night I had a couple of friends over for dinner. It�s so nice to have people over and entertain. I haven�t really been able to do that in a long time. The last two places I lived, I just never felt comfortable having people over. One place, the girl basically told me she didn�t want me to have people over because she didn�t know them (Um, hello, how will you get to know them if they don�t come over???), even though before I moved in she said it was fine. The last place, the guy was cool, but the downstairs was really his domain. It was never supposed to be that way, just turned out that way and I didn�t really want to have people over in my room all the time. Here, I feel very comfortable having people over. This is definitely my home. And my roommates feel the same way. So I�m happy about that.

So for the rest of the day, I�m going to finish cleaning the kitchen, watch some more movies so I can get them back to Netflix, maybe clean my bathroom, and lounge around the house some more. I might not even take a shower today. But who cares. I don�t have anything that important to do, if I want to take a �Me� day, I deserve it. No guilt allowed.






Daddy's gone - 2009-08-10
- - 2009-06-13
Bald Spots - 2009-03-25
Empty birthday cakes with suicidal shovels - 2009-03-05
Emptiness - 2009-03-03

last - next