navigate
current
archives
profile
website
email
gbook
notes
host
design

My Skin Has the Holiday Spirit
2006-11-16, 11:51 a.m.

I have bad news for you fans of roadside oddities. I know you have been waiting with baited breath to find out when the �weird rash girl� roadside attraction would open, but it is not to be.

My body, however, IS ready for the holiday season.

Seems I have what is called a �Christmas Tree Rash�. It�s called that because the rash sort of forms the pattern of a Christmas tree on your torso.

When I originally noticed the rash, I figured it was probably no big deal as it wasn�t showing any of the danger signs (it wasn�t crusty, oozing, raised up, etc) and I would just sort of watch it. It grew a bit but then once it reached a certain size, it stopped growing and began fading in color, though it was still there. Then two others appeared and they seemed to be doing the same thing.

I had not changed anything in my life during the onset of the rash, so I wasn�t really alarmed. Even when I saw they had spread, I wasn�t worried and figured I�d just wait and see. Waiting and seeing wasn�t seeming to cause me any problems so what the hell. Wait and see. That was my philosophy. Most rashes come and go with no real problems so why waste money on it.

But then, someone pressured me to go to the doctor � �It could be ringworm� � though it didn�t look a bit like ringworm. So off to the doctor I went. The doctor says, oh no, it�s definitely not ring worm. It looks like [insert fancy medical name here], also known as Christmas tree rash. It appears for no real reason, runs its course and then disappears. There�s no treatment for it and it causes no harm and will go away on its own. But then she said, �well, it�s kind of atypical so I think you should see a dermatologist.�

So I went to the dermatologist who said �yes, it looks like Christmas tree rash, this spot is already starting to go away. It causes no harm and goes away on it�s own. There�s no treatment for it.

So, $20 to the PCP, $40 to the dermatologist. $60 to hear that I have a rash that has no treatment, causes no harm and will go away on its own.

Thank you.

I should have been a doctor because I was doing the right thing all along, only I wasn�t paying $60 for it.






Daddy's gone - 2009-08-10
- - 2009-06-13
Bald Spots - 2009-03-25
Empty birthday cakes with suicidal shovels - 2009-03-05
Emptiness - 2009-03-03

last - next