navigate
current
archives
profile
website
email
gbook
notes
host
design

Long Beach Pride
2006-05-22, 11:30 a.m.

Okay, so those of you that read my last entry know that I will be locking a few entries in the near future. The first one is HERE . It will explain why I am locking entries. If you do not already have the password, feel free to email me at Janet(remove)PlanetOC(at)aol(dot)com and I will send it off your way.

Now here is the public entry:

So this weekend, I helped my friends Jana and Ken run a booth at the Long Beach Pride festival. Ken has been getting a little photography side business off the ground and he wanted to display some of his pictures. But that meant the booth had to be staffed the entire weekend so I helped them out.

Jana and Ken live right near the shore line in Long Beach. You can see the Queen Mary from their balcony. It�s the most awesome place to live. In fact for Pride, we pretty much just walked out the back of their apartment and crossed the street and we were in the main parking lot for the festival. Here�s a picture:

We didn�t get to see the parade as we were working the booth, but the Pride Festival was awesome. What I loved the most was seeing all these gay couples walking hand in hand, leaning against each other and hugging each other as they listened to music or walked along. Their love was beautiful.

Since all the men were pretty much off limits to us (and boy were there some hot men there), Jana and I were checking out the women and rating them on our self-created lickable scale! I must say, there were also some hot women there. I had the pleasure of flirting with a few of them (because of course, at this kind of thing, a single women is assumed to be a lesbian, but I didn�t try to change anyone�s minds. I guess I�m kind of seeing my sexuality as something more fluid these days). On Sunday, I had a long talk with one girl (girl! Woman, I guess, but they�re all girls and boys to me) who was really cute and we had a great time talking. I kind of wanted to ask for her phone number, not just because I thought it would be cool to date her but I thought it would be cool to be her friend. But seriously, I would have taken her on a date� She was working at an adoption booth so I went over there and signed up for their mailing list. Who knows, maybe she�ll call� I know she�s single, she asked me if I was (�so do you have a partner?�) and then told me that she was as well. Jana says she was flirting with me. So pretty red headed social worker, if you are reading this, drop me a line!

Of course, rainbows abounded, I loved these rainbow children on the fence:

This is a view of Pride looking back on the city of LB (the short square building to the left of the round building is Jana�s apartment building. The round building and the one to the right are iconic buildings in Long Beach):

Glitter and sparkly things were in abundance:

Of course, the rainbow flag:

A better picture of the famous circle building:

Here�s me in the photography booth (and no, you cannot see my chonies, I am wearing a skort � shorts underneath):

Doesn�t this umbrella look like it�s wearing a cowboy hat?

I did get one shot of a trannie (I didn�t take a lot of pictures because I felt like the whole thing shouldn�t be a spectacle, it should just be about life and people being accepted):

And of course, I had to take a picture of this hot boy � Mr. Gay Palm Springs 2006:

So that�s that� let me know if you want a wristband for my restricted entries!






Daddy's gone - 2009-08-10
- - 2009-06-13
Bald Spots - 2009-03-25
Empty birthday cakes with suicidal shovels - 2009-03-05
Emptiness - 2009-03-03

last - next