navigate
current
archives
profile
website
email
gbook
notes
host
design

What's Happening
2005-11-04, 1:12 p.m.

A few months ago, I just had to have these boots:

Like, run-to-the-store-right-now gotta have �em. I�ve worn them once. I think they are adorable. I love them. Apparently, I really love looking at them on my closet shelf. I can think of dozens of outfits that they�d go with. But when it comes to getting dressed in the morning, they just get passed by. I need to start wearing them. I need to start being more particular about what I buy.

Here�s a few things that are keeping me up at night these days:

I�m losing range of motion in my right thumb. I have arthritis in that thumb as a result of a fracture that didn�t heal right. By the end of each day, filled with typing and mouse-grabbing, my thumb just aches. The other day, I noticed that I can�t move it/bend it as much as my left thumb.

I am high-risk for losing the vision in my right eye (what is up with the right side of my body?). I have to go every 6 months for special tests to make sure that I�m not losing vision. It�s got something to do with the optic nerve and pressure on it. If I begin to lose my vision, they can halt the progression, but they can�t restore any vision that is lost. Hence the vigilant testing, including one that is considered experimental and so not covered by insurance. But it gives the best indication if there has been any vision loss, so I guess it�s worth it. If I went blind and didn�t do the test, I�d always regret it.

Here�s a few things about me that have changed in the last few weeks:

I have started wearing my glasses again. Partly due to the problem above. Also, I have noticed that I am squinting a lot these days and having more frequent headaches. I figured, wearing my glasses might be a smart move. They are really adorable glasses and I look oh so suave in them. They are the rectangular style and a reddish-brown tint that just matches my features perfectly. And oh, did I mention that they are Versace? Yeah, this is the only way I�ll ever own any Versace. I�ll take a picture of me with my glasses on so you can also see how cute they are (and I am in them�).

I cut my hair. Well, I didn�t personally cut it, but I got it cut. I went for a blunt cut just below my shoulders, which removed about 5-6 inches from the back of my hair. It�s very swingy and sassy. The front has a tiny bit of layering and tapering to bring in the bangs that I have grown out. As my old bangs continue to grow, I will do away with that and have just one length. It�s a lot healthier now that I�ve gotten rid of the dead ends. When I take a picture of me in my glasses, then you will also see my hair.

My good friend Danny has just moved to Denver. While I�m very happy for him and the opportunities he has there, I am very sad that he is not here anymore. In an entry soon I will do a whole Ode to Danny, but I�m not in the mood for it today. But I have decided to go visit him for Thanksgiving. Which means a 15 hour drive. And I keep thinking, �I should take someone with me�. But the person I would normally take with me to something like that IS Danny.

One of my other good friends is now thinking of moving to Atlanta. Frankly, I can�t take any more friends leaving the state right now. I think I should institute a �friend-in, friend-out� policy, which means that one of you needs to move to California. So, any takers? And if you do move here, you must know that I expect you to be my buddy for road-trips, midnight Harry Potter movie showings, Target runs, and many other fun things. C�mon, it�ll be fun.

That�s about all I�ve got right now. But I�m loving that it�s Friday.






Daddy's gone - 2009-08-10
- - 2009-06-13
Bald Spots - 2009-03-25
Empty birthday cakes with suicidal shovels - 2009-03-05
Emptiness - 2009-03-03

last - next