navigate
current
archives
profile
website
email
gbook
notes
host
design

nothing special
2005-05-13, 4:25 p.m.

My new business cards arrived today!!!! Now I feel like this really is my job. So today is the end of the first two weeks and so far, I�m really loving it. I remember when I first walked in to the office on May 2nd. The other two girls I work with (well, women, but you know) were talking and I came in, said good morning and started powering up my computer. They just kept talking and I felt so� so excluded. It was weird and so junior high school. But they quickly included me in the conversation and I felt better. I�m learning the new job really quickly and will be up and on my feet here in a few weeks. I like the job because there�s lots of variety and I don�t have to be in the office every day. I�ve been out on two site visits in the last two weeks and I have 1 to 2 of them scheduled each week for the next 6 weeks or so. Then I�ll probably be on my own and get a whole lot busier. But it�s okay. It�s funny, I think I�m working an average of 5 times more than I worked in my other job, but it feels like 10% of the work because I�m enjoying it.

Also, I�m in a different building and the atmosphere here is totally different than my other building. It�s just more of a professional environment and every one just does their work and doesn�t worry about what joe blow is doing. The other building was filled with tattle tales and petty bullshit. Also, it�s a lot quieter here. In the other building, I sat in a cubicle on the main walkway. Here, I share an office with the other two auditors and we are in the back corner of the building. Plus, I have a window! There�s about a million things that make this building better than the other one, better parking, less restroom usage (the other building almost always had a line for the bathroom), quieter� yadda yadda yadda. So, all in all, I�m very happy and feel so much better when I wake up in the morning. I actually want to go to work. Plus, some days, I get off early if the audit ends early. Wednesday, I was home by 1:30. Can�t complain about that. Tonight, I�ll probably stay late but that�s only because I hate Friday traffic.

So I finally had my first date with that guy Darrin. The date went well. He's a really nice guy and he's attractive. He kind of reminded me of a slightly older looking Cuba Gooding Jr. He's very settled, I met him at his house and it's really cute. He is refurbishing it right now and he's doing a good job, but admits he's saving the final touches for when he has a woman in his life. He figures she'll be the one to decorate and add the finishing touches. He wants to be married and have kids but he's selective too. He's really easy to talk to and very easy going. I could imagine kissing him and actually wanted to... though we didn't. We had dinner then were going to go to a movie but they started kind of late and I didn't want to be out the whole night, so we just sat on a bench by a fountain and talked for a while. I had driven so I drove him back to his house, we hugged and then I went home. He called about 2 hours later to say that he had a good time. He lives close to my work, basically on my way home, so hopefully I will motivate myself to call him on occasion as I'm driving home and grab some dinner or a movie with him. I know there's potential there, it's just hard for me to get excited about any man since my heart is all tied up in Brian. I know I'm going about this the wrong way, I just love Brian so much and still have hope that things might work out for us. It's hard to let go of that.

I�m hungry all the time and can�t figure out what is up with that. I know I can�t eat a lot at a sitting, but I could eat all day long, just nibbling. I don�t let myself, but I could. That can�t be good. I swear, Monday, if not sooner, I am definitely getting my ass back to they gym.

Nothing else of real interest happening in my life. I�m craving a spontaneous road trip, but alas, all my road trip buddies are otherwise engaged this weekend. It�s better that way really, I need to pay my car insurance so I can�t really afford a road trip right now. There�ll be plenty of time later.






Daddy's gone - 2009-08-10
- - 2009-06-13
Bald Spots - 2009-03-25
Empty birthday cakes with suicidal shovels - 2009-03-05
Emptiness - 2009-03-03

last - next