navigate
current
archives
profile
website
email
gbook
notes
host
design

warm and fuzzy
2004-12-13, 1:22 p.m.

My warm and fuzzy moment of the day.

Our company does different charity things during the holiday. This year, we had angels for kids and also angels for seniors in nursing homes. Then there are two organizations we are working with and we stuff stockings for homeless people. My friend Jana and I went together on 1 senior, 1 kid and 1 stocking. We totally stuffed the stocking full of stuff-- McDonald's gift certificates, packages of instant oatmeal, all sorts of toiletries. The senior wanted a sweater so we got her a nice warm sweater, some booties and some lotion and candy. The kid wanted some jewelry craft stuff so we got her a jewelry craft kit, a pair of jeans and a sweater. The organizations are picking up the stuff today.

About halfway through the day on Friday, I noticed that there were still 4 senior angels by the tree and I was really hoping someone would pick them up. They were still here this morning and I felt bad for those 4 people knowing that they might not get a present when all the other people at their home got gifts. I mentioned it to my friend Jana about how bad I felt and what would happen (like maybe the organization had some other funds and they would buy presents for those few who did not get anything). So she mentioned it to another person, Peggy, and we decided to all go in together to purchase gifts for them. Peggy mentioned it to her boss, and then the bosslady went around the department and asked people if they would help. So we ended up with over $140 and went to Target. We got each person what they had asked for (A sweater for a man, a pair of sweats for a man, a cardigan sweater for a woman and a blouse for a woman), and were also able to get each of them a large print puzzle book, some lotion, some candy, some anti-bacterial hand wash, some body wash. The women each got a pair of fuzzy socks and some mittens and the men each got a package of white socks.

Peggy, Jana and I had so much fun choosing stuff for them, trying to select things we thought they would like. Each of us were kind of teary eyed thinking about the people who were receiving the gifts. I just wouldn't be able to enjoy Christmas if I was thinking about these 4 people at the home without gifts.

I had a super busy weekend and I didn�t really have time to relax. I didn�t get half of what I wanted done, but I finished what needed to be finished. This morning I had 30-something baggies of fudge and caramels to distribute along with another plate to share with everyone. The party was fun, ton of food and everyone had a good time. I ended up deciding not to make the cookies because I decided a) I just didn�t have the time and b) we didn�t need more sweets for the party. I do want to make them since I have all the ingredients but I�ll probably wait and make them for our family Christmas party instead.

At this point, I�m more than halfway done with my Christmas shopping. I just have a few things left to buy, as well as my traditional gift to myself. I just got an e-mail that Lane Bryant is now carrying Seven7 jeans so I think I�m going to treat myself to a pair of those for Christmas. Then I�m going to see how much money I have left and I might buy myself something else too. After all, though I�ve fallen off the wagon of late, I am still dating myself and I deserve to treat myself well this holiday.

This week, I need to finish making my Christmas cards, write my Christmas letter, wrap my presents, send out my Christmas cards, and I think that�s about it. I�m kind of behind on my Christmas cards, I usually have them sent out by now, but oh well� I�m going to forgive myself.






Daddy's gone - 2009-08-10
- - 2009-06-13
Bald Spots - 2009-03-25
Empty birthday cakes with suicidal shovels - 2009-03-05
Emptiness - 2009-03-03

last - next