navigate
current
archives
profile
website
email
gbook
notes
host
design

better than any old lover
2004-08-21, 11:23 a.m.

I don�t want to turn this diary into a gratuitous self-love-fest, so I won�t continue to post letters to myself here. But I will keep writing them. The more I think about it, the more I know this is the right thing to do. And it�s the right time too. I can�t rely on anyone else � not friends, boyfriends, family, bosses, co-workers, etc � to make me feel happy. I can�t rely on anyone else to make me feel loved. I can�t rely on anyone else to make me feel powerful, strong, able, capable, amazing, or anything else. It�s in my control. I have the power. And so, I begin a new chapter of my life. My relationship with myself. And I will put all the energy into it that I would put into any other relationship. Because I matter. The most.

Here is my plan:

Treat myself as well as I would treat any lover. Write myself letters expressing my love for myself. Get to know myself by spending time alone, thinking things through, ask myself questions as I would anyone I was dating and getting to know. Do nice things for myself. Treat myself the way I deserve to be treated by the most important person in my life.

This morning, when I took my shower, I sat on the floor of the tub and gave myself a foot scrub for about 10 minutes. After getting out of the shower, I looked in the mirror at my body, I tried to look at it the way a lover would, enjoying each part of it, each curve, the strength of the muscles, the delight of each curve. After that, I dried off and then gave myself a foot and calf massage. It felt good. It felt empowering. It felt loving.

I am going to start a second diary where I will write my letters to myself. Read them, don�t read them. They are for me. They may, at times, be annoying as I tell myself how great I am. But they are necessary. For me. To understand that fact. And to know that I don�t need to hear it from anyone but myself.

For those that would like to track it the diary is:

Letters to myself . It�s empty right now, but I will begin filling it up tonight. I can�t wait!






Daddy's gone - 2009-08-10
- - 2009-06-13
Bald Spots - 2009-03-25
Empty birthday cakes with suicidal shovels - 2009-03-05
Emptiness - 2009-03-03

last - next