navigate
current
archives
profile
website
email
gbook
notes
host
design

checking in
2006-08-15, 6:19 p.m.

I know, I know. It�s been, like, a year or something. I probably wouldn�t even be updating right now if it weren�t for Carrie�s nudging and subtle prodding. So thank her for the news

What news?

Well, there really is no news. Except that the chiropractor is working. Surprisingly, I actually wake up in the morning with no, or very little, pain. Wow. Of course, by the end of the day, the world has done its damage but still, this is progress.

Hmm, what else? I had a job interview.


Same job I�m doing now but for a different company and internal so I wouldn�t be driving all over Southern California. There are more pluses to it than minuses (I�d get to learn a whole heap of new stuff like fraud investigation) which makes me more marketable. I�d make more money, have better benefits. The only downs are I�d be going from salary to hourly (which might work in my favor in this case), my commute would be 13 miles longer (for now at least) and I�d be losing 9 years of seniority. But other than that, everything else is a plus. And of course they want to hire me. When the interview was over, I asked the person (who I already know, she went there from my company) when she�d be making the decision and she said �oh, I think I already have�, so I said �ok great, then I look forward to hearing from you soon� and she said �yes you will�. But then the next day the recruiter called and said they were having a hiring freeze and they think it�s just a knee jerk response to losing a contract in a certain mid-western state but that there are 8 other states and 4 positions open for this job so they think when the dust settles they will be able to salvage 1 or 2 positions and that when they do, they want me, she also offered me the opportunity to interview for several other jobs in the company but said that the other manager would kill her for that because she wanted me. Woo Hoo. I told her it�s okay, I have a job and wasn�t looking but felt it was a good fit for me and that I can be patient while they work things out. So I figure, whatever happens happens. If I�m supposed to get the job, it�ll work out, if I�m not, I�m good with where I�m at.

So, that�s really all that is going on. I drove up to the bay area last weekend for a spontaneous wedding that was 3 years in the making. Okay, my friend got engaged three years ago. She had 1 cruddy starter marriage where she eloped and it was a horrible marriage so this time she wanted the real thing. But then she got pregnant, so it got delayed. Then her fianc� got laid off, so it got delayed, then he got a job but they were still catching up on bills, then she got pregnant again. So baby number 2 has arrived and they were thinking maybe next year. Then her fianc� rolled over in bed and said, �I�m tired of waiting, let�s just get married this weekend�. No time to call in the folks from Illinois, so trusty good friend Janet drove up from So Cal to the bay area on a Friday. We hung out on Saturday, then on Sunday, drove to Sacramento, dropped off my car, then drove to Tahoe, had a wedding, drove back to Sacramento, had lunch, picked up my car and I drove home to So Cal. For most of you, these city names are meaningless, but let me just say that it pretty much meant I spent 13-14 hours in a car on Sunday. It took all day Monday to recover. But that was a week and a half ago so I�m better now.

I saw the orthopedist today and he looked at my xrays and said that I�m okay, my bones aren�t all jacked for life (other than arthritis and such) and told me the chiro will help and so will physical therapy. So that�s the story there. And I have been feeling a heap better since I started seeing the chiro.

This weekend is a big deal though. I�m supposed to meet Brian�s son (well, actually his nephew but Brian is raising him) and because the nephew/son had a cruddy, horrible awful non-mothering mother, he has issues with women and so we have not met yet. And this weekend we�re supposed to meet. I�m nervous as hell. I wish I had met him when he was younger, it would have been easier. Have I ever mentioned that 13 year old boys scare the hell out of me? Conversation topics anyone?

Of course, Brian could cancel, it�s been known to happen. So I�ll just wait and see.

That�s all folks. Just checking in with you to prove I�m still alive.






Daddy's gone - 2009-08-10
- - 2009-06-13
Bald Spots - 2009-03-25
Empty birthday cakes with suicidal shovels - 2009-03-05
Emptiness - 2009-03-03

last - next